History logo

First Love in High School

A Casual Tale of Mike and Jenny

By Taufik HidayatPublished 6 days ago 3 min read

The bell rang, marking the end of another ordinary day at Jefferson High. I shoved my books into my backpack, eager to escape the confines of the classroom. As I made my way to my locker, I couldn't help but notice Jenny Parker standing a few feet away, talking to her friends. She was everything you’d expect the most popular girl in school to be: pretty, smart, and always surrounded by people.

We'd known each other since middle school but had never really talked much. She was always in the cool crowd, and I was... well, I was just there. But something changed that day. As I fumbled with my locker combination, I felt a tap on my shoulder. I turned around and there she was, Jenny Parker, smiling at me.

"Hey, Mike, right?" she said.

"Uh, yeah, that’s me," I stammered, trying to play it cool but failing miserably.

"I was wondering if you could help me with algebra. Mr. Jenkins said you’re really good at it."

I nodded, probably a bit too enthusiastically. "Sure, no problem. When do you want to study?"

"How about tonight? My place?" she asked, flashing that perfect smile again.

"Yeah, tonight sounds good," I replied, trying to keep my voice from cracking.

Fast forward a few hours, and I found myself standing on Jenny's front porch, feeling like I had just stepped into another dimension. She answered the door, and for a second, I forgot how to speak. She was wearing a casual T-shirt and jeans, but somehow, she still looked like she had just walked out of a magazine.

"Come on in," she said, leading me to the kitchen where her books were spread out on the table. "I hope you like pizza. I ordered some for us."

Pizza and algebra—what could go wrong? As it turned out, a lot could go right. We spent the next couple of hours going through equations, but mostly, we just talked. I learned that she loved to read and had a weird obsession with mystery novels. She found out that I played the guitar and was a closet comic book nerd.

By the time we finished studying, it felt like we had known each other forever. When I finally got up to leave, she walked me to the door. "Thanks for helping me, Mike. I had a great time."

"Me too," I said, trying to keep my cool.

"See you tomorrow?" she asked.

"Yeah, see you tomorrow," I replied, smiling like an idiot all the way home.

The next day at school, things were different. Jenny waved at me in the hallway, and her friends gave me these curious looks. By lunchtime, the whole school seemed to know that we were hanging out. It was weird, but also kind of awesome.

Over the next few weeks, we spent more time together. We studied, went to movies, and even hung out at the local diner. Each time, it felt more and more like this was something special. And then, one Friday night, it happened.

We were sitting in her backyard, looking up at the stars. There was a comfortable silence between us, the kind that doesn't need to be filled with words. Then she turned to me and said, "You know, I'm really glad we started hanging out."

"Me too," I replied, my heart racing.

She leaned in a little closer, and before I knew it, we were kissing. It was awkward and perfect at the same time. My first kiss, my first love.

From that moment on, everything changed. High school was still high school, with all its ups and downs, but having Jenny by my side made it all a little brighter. We were each other's first love, and no matter where life took us after graduation, that was something we’d always share.

World HistoryBooksBiographies

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 8886 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

THWritten by Taufik Hidayat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.