Geeks logo

Wired Differently chap 8: The Walk (My Hero Academia Tododeku slowburn)

This is part of the Wired Differently series. It is a tododeku slowburn that deals with Midoriya's anxiety and Todoroki's trauma. The chapters must be read in order, the links are in story body. In this chapter, Midoriya asks Todoroki to hang out with him after school. As well as the trip to the hang-out spot.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
A transparent brain scan of someone with trauma and Tororoki's head in the bottom right corner and Midoriya's in the top left. The name of the story is on the top and the chapter name is on the bottom

Links to previous chapters

Chapter 7: Lunch

Chapter 6: Tanaka-san(Therapy)

Chapter 4 and 5: internships:

For earlier chapters go to the Wired Differently section of my Vocal Stories Google doc.

Midoriya's POV

My feelings forTodoroki-kun grew and grew as I spent more time with him, Lunches were great he really seemed to be opening up to us.

After class one day as our classmates were leaving I asked if he wanted to hang out after school. I don't know what possessed me to do that I didn't think the words just came out of my mouth without me thinking. I'm just asking a friend to hang out after school this is normal nothing out of the ordinary... but this is Todoroki-kun! It's Just a friend asking another friend to hang out. Nothing weird about that, right?

I was so caught up in my thoughts I almost didn't hear his response. "I think that I would like that a lot." My head started spinning, I'm hanging out one on withTodoroki-kun! Alone! Just the two of us!

Todoroki POV

Class ended and my classmates were filing out of the room to talk. Midoriya came up to me and asked me if I wanted to hang out after class. I looked at him and his awkward smile and shining emerald eyes. I felt comfortable just being in his presence. Something I don't feel with many people. He made me smile when few things do. "I would like that a lot," I responded. him asking made me feel special. It made me feel included. It would also mean that I get to spend time with him.

Midoriya's POV

he said yes he said yes! Now what! I have nothing planned and I'm going to be spending time with Todoroki-kun! And I have nothing planned why did I do that! Why was I so impulsive Tanaka-san said that my thoughts are always holding me back and I need to do things without thinking but now that I did that I don't know what to do. Now I have to think of something quick.

"We could go to the arcade! There's a good one near my house!" I responded. He nodded in response.

"I've never been to an arcade before" I was shocked! "You've really never been to one!" I exclaimed then I started mumbling "how could he have never been to an arcade, I know he had a tough childhood but it's an arcade... shit this means that I need to make this date extra special! Wait this isn't al date it's just two friends going to an arcade but this is with Todoroki-kun!" I realized that I said all that out loud and pulled myself out of my own head and nervously looked at the heterochromatic boy hoping he wasn't paying attention. He had a bearly noticeable smile on his face.

Todoroki POV

I let Midoriya continue to mumble. Though I couldn't make out most of the words; I found it adorable. I found that just about everything he does adorable, too bad that he'd never feel the same way about me. He started to move, while still mumbling. I didn't think that he realized that he was moving, or even mumbling for that matter, I fallowed him he seemed to be autopiloting to the train station

Midoriya POV(still mumbling and not aware that he's moving)

"I can't believe this is happing I'm going to be withTodoroki-kun one on one at the arcade at least I came up with the accede I don't know what I would do if I said something like the park where there would be nothing to do but just talk not that I don't want to talk to him because I do but what would I say. I know we had conversations at lunch but I wasn't alone with him then! But there would still be the time getting there the train ride is ten minutes, and the walk to and from the station is another fifteen so that's at least twenty-five minutes of unstructured time!" I noticed that while I was caught up worrying we were walking and we were almost at the train station. Then I noticed that Todoroki-kun wasn't next to me! I started to get nervous did my mumbling scare him off!

"Midoriya, are you done mumbling?" I heard Todoroki-kun ask from behind me. Oh, yea he always walks a bit behind me, or well anyone for some reason. I turned red as I realized that I said that out loud, despite not wanting him to see me blushing, I turned around so he couldn't see my face. Before I turned around I saw that his lips were shaped into a smile, a small smile, but the most beautiful smile I had ever seen. Tears swelled in my eyes and some begin to fall down my cheeks. I quickly turned back around and saying "y-yea I'm done," with the most steady voice I could muster as I wiped my tears off on my sleave. I then continued walking, hoping that he'd follow.

Todoroki POV

As we approached the train station Midoriya stopped mumbling. I asked if he was done. He proceeded to blush, turn around and then start crying; before promptly turning around and tell me that he was done. I was a little disappointed that he was, I enjoy the sound of his voice; whether I could make out the words or not. He then continued walking. He was just so adorable!

I followed him in silence as we boarded the train. Silence doesn't bother me. I'm quite used to it. I find it comforting. Midoriya, on the other hand, seemed to not be as fond of it. He seemed to be growing nervous. I wanted to help him, but I didn't know how to start a conversation.

Eventually, we reached the arcade.

AN

If you like this story but are caught up? I have and several different series that I am working on that you can take a look at, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, comment, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.