Geeks logo

Wired Differently Chapter 4 & 5: The Internship a Tododeku My Hero Academia Fanfic

This is the third chapter of a mental health Todoroki x Midoriya (tododeku) Slowburn romance. This story talks about their mental illnesses. I've diagnosed Midoriya with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Todoroki with ComplexPTSD this story is canon compliment and follows the plot. Links to the first three chapters are in the story.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
A translucent brain scan over a translucent heart in the center of a black background. Midoriya's head is fading in looking pensive at the top left and Todoroki also looking pensive on the bottom right.

Previous chapters:

Chapter 1: The Sports Festival

Chapter 2: Visiting Mom:

Chapter 3: Hero Names

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m combining these two chapters because chapter 4 is really short, and I have to fulfill a word count.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chapter 4

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todoroki POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I entered my house to find that I was alone. Which was fine. I was glad that Enji wasn't home. He came home while I was eating dinner. I felt his overbearing uncomfortable presence as soon as he entered the house, sending a shiver up my spine.

"Shoto, did they talk about the internships today?" he asked, making me feel like a scared child under interrogation.

"Yes," I managed to respond while avoiding eye contact by focusing on my food.

"And of course you picked me." My throat went dry as panic took over. I could feel his piercing gaze. He made me feel small with no will of my own. He correctly took my silence as a no. that made him angry.

"SHOTO! LOOK AT ME WHEN I TALK TO YOU!" he yelled, banging his hand on the table. I looked up and saw his beard and mustache were in flames. At the sight of him angry I could do little more than stay in control and not shut down.

"YOU WILL PICK ME FOR YOUR INTERNSHIP. GOT THAT?!" all I could do was give a scared nod. It would be hell to chose him and it would be hell if I didn't. If I did the hell would just be a week, and I would learn to control my fire. I made up my mind that I had to choose Him. It was the only logical thing to do. Of course, that doesn't mean that I had to like it. My hand was shaking when I handed in the slip the next day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chapter 5

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todoroki's POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The internship started, and it was hell. I constantly felt like a scared little kid as Enji taught me how to control my flames. He didn't beat me up like he did when I was little, this was probably do to him having an audience, and needing to be a relatively likable person for his ranking. Despite that emotionally, it was the same. Towards the end of the second day, I had gotten used to those feelings, again. I'm sure the fact that those feelings only worsen when I get home helped me get habituated to them. Of course on the third day, Midoriya put something in the class group text. Just a location. Midoriya doesn't do things by accident, nor is he vague. He often used more words than necessary. Something must be wrong. I was very close to the location, so I ran off to go help him. As I ran off I had the police send pro heroes after me. Just to be safe.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Midoriya's POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It was the third day of the internship and I learned a lot with Grand Torino I can now have my One For All circulating through my body allowing me more control and power than ever! Today he was taking me to Hosu, the city where Iida was interning, Todoroki was in that neighborhood too know that was calming and exciting!

On the train ride there I texted Iida telling him that I'll be there, but he didn't text back, something he never does. This gave me anxiety, and then the train got attacked, which switched my anxiety to adrenalin a small but distinguishable difference. Grand Torino told me not to get involved so I went to find Iida. I quickly found him and he was fighting, without his mentor! We weren't supposed to be doing any real fighting even with our mentor! And he was losing I needed to help him. I quickly realized how dangerous this was, I needed backup, but who could I call for help, then I remembered that we have a class group chat! I didn't have time to send a proper message, I was only able to send him a GPS location. I hope that was enough. Please let that be enough! And someone came the person I hoped would come came, Todoroki!

I was frozen by Stain's quirk when he arrived with a large shooop of fire than he spoke, he told me how I needed to give more information and my heart almost jumped out of my chest, he has such a sweet voice, and he just looked so perfect. He was using his fire! He's finally using his fire he learned to embrace all of his quirks and it was so beautiful, he was so beautiful, Am I in love?

My feelings for him became more muddled when we shared a room with Iida in the hospital after the battle. It was nice being with both of them but there, but I was too anxious to really talk to Todoroki much, so I mostly talked to Iida, of course, I still talked to Todoroki too, I didn't want him to feel left out! But these feelings I have for him, I couldn't wait to talk this over with my therapist, I'm so confused! I've never been in love before.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have others in this series, and I have and several different series that I am working on, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Next Chapter: Chapter 6 : Tanaka-san(Therapy)

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

This is a fanfic for My Hero Academia, all rights reserved

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.