Geeks logo

When You Are In The Night Cafe You Gotta Try,Try,Try

If At First You Don't Succeed, Try,Try, Try Again

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4

Introduction

I am writing this because a lot of my friends are starting out on the AI digital art path and think that they cannot create something that they feel is any good. I have already written a Vocal Top Story on this subject (using an image generated in Night Cafe and featured on Pixabay) which you can read here.

In The Past

Someone commented on one of my friend’s photographs that they were all brilliant. This was in the early days of digital photography and the photographs that he shared socially were excellent, but he qualified this by saying “For every one that I share there are a thousand that I bin”.

While this was probably an exaggeration it does demonstrate what an incredibly beneficial shift for photographic creators the move to digital has been.

When we took pictures using film you never knew what those photographs would turn out like, and also you often had only 24 or 36 photographs on a film. There was also the instamatic option but the quality was not that great and they were expensive and probably used to send to certain esoteric publications.

Once you had completed the film you sent it off to be developed and a couple of weeks later you got your photographs and negatives back, and then you chucked the ones that didn’t work, and if you wanted copies of any you had to select your negatives, take them to the developer and wait for the copies to come back.

With the move to digital we can now take as many photographs as we want and delete any that don’t cut the mustard. That was an option that we didn’t have in the past.

Also because of error correction and huge device capacity we are almost unlimited in what we can photograph and share. I still have lots I discard but this can be done in the moment and people now compliment me on how good my photography is.

This is just because I only share the photographs that I consider fit for public consumption.

And So Into The Night Cafe

Night Cafe is an AI (Artificial Intelligence) Digital Art generator and it was brought to my attention a few months ago. I wasn’t really expecting anything from it and my first attempts often were, shall we say, strange and unconventional and unusable to say the least. It was hardly an auspicious start for me.

Night Cafe Creation Methods

One of the problems is that faces often come out distorted but the addition of the Stable creation method engine to the Artistic, Coherent and Style Transfer creation method engines has made it more likely that you can get an image that you will be happy with.

The main thing is that like with stories, poetry, songs , paintings and photography, if you are not happy with the results then try again with different text, a different filter or a different creation method engine.

Cat Creations

Recently I tried one for a “Cat In The Mirror” for a friend but I had to take three goes before I was satisfied. All were acceptable but I was only happy with the final one.

For a recent one for my Vocal story “On The Bus” I thought the image contained nothing that I wanted but somehow gave the right atmosphere that I wanted for the story so I kept it and people liked it.

Some people are against AI Art generation but I just see it as a tool. If I want an exact picture AI art is highly unlikely to generate it so I would have to draw it myself or commission and artist to do it for me.

Conclusion on Night Cafe Creations

Anyone can generate amazing images using the interfaces, but if you don’t get what you want first of all keep trying or else hire an artist.

artfeaturehow tophotographyproduct reviewreviewsocial media
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Harvey Elwood2 years ago

    Woahhh I had no idea that this was a thing and I am super intrigued and excited to try it. Thank you for writing about this!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    This is great, Mike! I made an account on Midnight Cafe' and generated a picture describing my text description.. It was not bad for a start, and I plan to use it in a story sometime in the next few months. I will identify it as my first attempt at AI ART when/if I use it on Vocal. Thanks for sharing this great tool that you have used to create some amazing pictures!

  • The Stable method is to be loved. Only after using that I was able to publish several of my creations. And you know very well I love all the pictures you create! Keep it up!

  • sleepy drafts2 years ago

    I had never heard of this! What a cool and fun system! Thank you for sharing this! :D

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    You’ve made an excellent point in this article, Mike. I publish a small fraction of the images I create. Some of my fails are downright funny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.