Geeks logo

Up, Up and Away.

With great power comes great responsibility.

By JayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 15 min read
1
Up, Up and Away.
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Superman taught me about hope for humanity.

Batman taught me we can be good moral people and still have a little darkness in us and that's okay.

Spider-Man taught me about my responsibility as a human to take care of other humans, especially if I have more power than others to do so.

The X-Men taught me about prejudice and showed me even though we are all different, we are actually all the same no matter our differences we are one.

Goku taught me to never give up and showed me if you give it everything you've got you'll only get stronger overtime, and he showed me to always stand up for others against bullies and evildoers.

Yusuke and Inuyasha taught me to never be a push over and always stand up for yourself.

Pokemon and Digimon taught me friendship is one of the most powerful, beautiful, profound, life altering things in existence.

The charmed ones showed me there is nothing more important than love and the power that comes from family connection.

Buffy showed me how powerful women are and that they can do anything and whatever they do it's usually better than men and that it's okay to be vulnerable because that's where true power comes from.

Xena taught me it's never too late to turn over a new leaf in life (she taught me gymnastics)

Power rangers taught me when we work together as a team for the common good as humans the possibilities are endless (they also taught me gymnastics)

Disney movies taught me about true love and how meeting that person can make you feel complete, and that music is the key to happiness.

Matilda taught me that our true power comes from knowledge and a strong moral compass.

They all taught me you don't need religion to have morals. If you can't determine right from wrong, then you lack empathy, not religion. Some say that you can only form values, principles, ideals, standards (of behavior) virtues and dictates of conscience from the “bible” but I learned all of that because of superheroes growing up. There are those who do not believe or think tv shows, movies, comics, or manga can have a profound effect on you and your life, but they can, and they do. Superhero characters are the expression of our soul, our inner dreams and our fantasies.

That's why I'm still so in love with marvel, dc and anime as an adult.

Anybody who was obsessed with superheroes as a kid knows exactly what I'm talking about.

We wanted to be them. We looked up to them and thought they were spectacular.

They taught me high moral and ethical standards are essential, and they don't change from one person to another, or from one level of authority to another. The measure of a society is in how well they treat their weakest and most helpless citizens.

Anime taught me how there is no greater strength than the bonds you make with people, and that the power of friendship is real.

These characters growing up (besides my parents) showed me the branch of knowledge that deals with principles.

There is an actual religion based on the anime:

“Dragon Ball Z”

Here is the description: "Gokuism is the belief that the principles of Dragon Ball provide a moral compass for one's life, and that Goku is an ideal role model and moralistic person.”


They taught me when it comes to humanity and how we consistently fail to take care of the people most in need It's not a lack of resources, it's a lack of empathy.

That's the problem in today's society.

They taught me cognitive empathy is being aware of the emotional state of another person. Emotional empathy is engaging with and sharing those emotions. Compassionate empathy involves acting to support other people. Three kinds of empathy.

Sympathy is very different from empathy. Sympathy is sending a card that says, “my condolences” it's having feelings of pity and sorrow for someone but no action. That's sympathy to me. It's gone about as fast as it appears.

Empathy is an action taken to help solve an individual or societal problem. It's taking a stand and never being one to back down from a fight. It's speaking truth to power, becoming a champion for fact-based logic, expressing yourself with force and forthrightness, becoming a symbol of peace, freedom, and equality. Not being afraid to speak up when you see something that is not right and having the overwhelming sense of you MUST do something, you MUST say something. It is up to us to add our voices to the course of history, echoing those who have come before us, but only the ones who were on the right side of history. Empathy does that. Put that empathy to good use and use it as a fierce force weapon for good.


They taught me you must always take sides because neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented. That is the truest form of empathy, not just feeling, but doing! Not just for ourselves or our kids but for the entire planet its self.

You have to be willing to put your money, time, and effort where your mouth is, on top of adding your voice to the mix to help bring about change.

None of us have superpowers, but you know what the next best thing is? Voting! Voting is a superpower. Voting is the truest form of empathy, not just feeling, but doing! Voting translates to empathy, and empathy is the world's most transformative emotion. Empathy is the most precious human quality. Voting Is a chess move for the world you want to live in. Voting is an action taken to help solve a societal problem.

That's what superheroes do. They help solve global humanitarian issues.

They've taught me inclusivity is kindness.

But It wouldn't be real life if there wasn't someone trying to destroy it simply because it's not appealing to them, or simply because they can.

No one has the right to crush happiness or beauty or the possibility of utopia when they see it.

I refuse to accept living in a world where empathy doesn't conquer all. It's not the world I wish to be a part of and that's where villains come into play.

Villain characters have taught me about the dangers of spreading hate and being a divider. And how some people thrive off of the anger and the chaos and love getting attention for it. Villains taught me about bullying, greed, showing off and misogyny.

Villains have a pattern of behavior to attack, insult, berate or try to humiliate those who question them, in an attempt to bully them into submission. They use tactics to pressure, threaten and intimidate. It's so sad to see humans engaging in the very same behavior as villains.

They taught me in a world where bullies torment kids on social media to a devastating effect regularly with insults and name-calling that someone has to step up because the internet is full of unpleasant individuals. We all can and should strive to be that one bright spot for the person getting attacked because that one act of kindness can save lives. Trolls can kill and humans with empathy can save.

Superheroes teach kids in america and all around the world that it's never okay to be a bully. A person's words and actions have the power to move markets. They can start wars or broker peace. They can summon our better angels or awaken our worst instincts. Heroes help us resist our WORST instincts.


Heroes stand for inclusion and justice for all. And we honor them every day and their legacy by remembering that.

We watch and read about their struggles and their sacrifices, and we watch them continue working toward their vision of a society free from poverty and inequality.

When it comes to the fans, we get together and geek out over our favorite heroes difficulties, hardships, or problems, especially those that test their courage, endurance, or resolve to keep fighting for the future generations. Heroes work to advance the message of empathy further into society and ultimately Into the collective conscience of humanity.

We gush about the thoughtful story/storytelling
and the well-executed and timed comedy
and the great original ideas and the iconic comics storylines and the hi-effort art and animation and most importantly about the sophisticated, multi-layered plot and the non- movie related original stories.

Those conversations morph Into us talking about our favorite anime and our favorite comic book characters.

That morphs into us building community.

Community leads us to talk us about deeper subject like atoms, death, aliens, sex, magic, intelligence.

The meaning of life, faraway galaxies, music that makes us feel different, memories, the lies we've told, our flaws, our favorite scents, our childhoods, what keeps us up at night, our insecurities, and fears.

Our favorite foods, our favorite video games, people we love, people we aren't so fond of.

Why humans are so mean and evil and how it literally tears us apart how sick and twisted humanity is and how we don't even feel like we are human because we are so different from them etc.

We all realize we were suffering in silence, and we don't have to.

Many of us grew up reading fantasy stories; some of us have even written our very own fantasy fiction.

Fantasy is a genre where you can leave your worries about the real-world behind and escape to a different reality. As we grow older and itch for a little more magic in our lives, we tend to gravitate back towards these worlds. And of course, with every fantasy land comes a subculture composed of die-hard fans.

Superheroes make us want to make a difference in the world and really help people better themselves and improve their lives In every area.
They show us we have to be the change we want to see in the world.

For as long as I can remember, that's all I've ever wanted to do.

Help people find themselves and help them learn to love themselves and help them get their lives organized and back on track.

I think I feel that way because superheroes have made me want to be near something or stand in the light of something bigger than myself, so I can do stuff that matters.

I need to believe that there's something greater than a 9 to 5 crap job, that there is a higher purpose, that my life has meaning.

The world feels big, and I feel insignificant and small, like my existence is pointless.

Most of the time, I feel like I'm not doing anything to make other people's lives better, and that's what I want more than anything.

Having any kind of positive impact on just ONE person is what life is all about for me. It's about being kind to each other and to yourself, and being generous.

One kind word can create a ripple effect that might change the way people around you feel. If we could all remember to do this, can you imagine what the world would be like?

So, I say It's my honor, my duty, and my responsibility as a decent human to help others and to do good things.

If there’s one thing we’re all chasing after, if there's one force that trumps money, power and reason, if there's one thing that very closely dictates the kind of people we become, it's love. It's acceptance. It's the feeling of belonging.

Many of us often feel alienated, like this world is not meant for us, or we aren't meant for this world.

We felt unique as a child, as though no one else was or is like us, it felt like there was them (humanity) and you.

You have felt great despair or depression in your life, often connected to a desire to want to go home. Life here feels so very wrong. You often feel connected to another place or time, and long for something deeper in your life. You've always felt so different.

Furthermore, you get to the point of being excited about dying because that would mean you no longer have to be on this planet with humans.

You think to yourself, “humans are far worse than any wild animal could ever be.”

You feel It's depressing to have to live life because you see so much cruelty, and you can't do a damn thing to stop it.

It's like seeing your family being tortured, and you're right there, but you're chained and all you can do is watch. There is no worse feeling than being a bleeding heart and never being able to make justice prevail or make good things happen or help people in need. Not being able to fulfill your one desire which is to make things equal for every human alive no matter what.

It causes you to have existential dread because humans are so spiteful, petty and possess this innate undeniable evil quality and knowing that fact every single day when you're extremely devastatingly empathic is torture.

So, you create certain protective elements to survive in society because you find being around people quite hard, even painful at times, and you can only handle large crowds of people in very brief doses.

Things get so bad In the world, you start to get this overwhelming feeling. It's so sad. We see the faces on TV. You think to yourself, "If I tried to make a difference, would it help anyway?“

You have lost faith in humanity because it seems like you're the only human on earth who sees the grand design in its simplicity.

No one else seems to be able to see that we are all one, only egos, fears, and beliefs separate us, so why can't humans understand this?

Then you think about what one of your favorite superheroes would say.

They would say: “So you want to change the world? What are you waiting for? It only takes one voice, so come on now and shout it out. Give a little more, what are you waiting for? You feel a little helpless, seems like you can't do a thing, but good things happen if you just believe”.

Superheroes help those of us who struggle with thoughts about meaning, life and happiness.

You just want to find peace for yourself and humanity.

They help you believe fairy tales can become reality. That they can really exist if we really want them to. We just have to be prepared to work hard enough.

Superheroes help us believe that the world will not always be full of hatred and conflict if we are willing to sacrifice enough, and that is what being a superhero is all about and means to me.


I believe empathy has brought us to where we are today in society with all the progress for women, for people of color, for the LGBTQIA community, for the jewish (the most oppressed groups in history) It's empathy that has made the majority of us get rid of our fears and our prejudices.

That is why I celebrate superheroes.

Not to mention it's a great way to honor our loved ones.

Doing what's right in the best way that we know how, even if it's just in our own small corner of the world. We all can be superheroes in our own way.

People in positions of power who have influence have a responsibility to use it for good to help people and leave something amazing behind for the world to enjoy when they die.

So many heroes have inspired me to see the world with enough compassion to make me want to do something about all the unfair things I see In the world.

To be a part of that movement in some way.

I believe in maximizing the rights of the people. No matter if you're black or white gay or straight man or woman old or young because every rock and tree and creature has a life, has a spirit, has a name.

Superheroes taught me that everyone bleeds, feels sadness, feels anger, feels pain no matter who they're or who they love.

I learned superheroes come in all shapes and sizes: Some are LGBTQ, Some are people of color, Some are men, Some are women, Some are old, Some are young, Some are religious, Some are atheists etc.


Growing up, we see heroes contribute to the greater good. We see them want to be part of the process. We see them want to make a difference before they die.

They want it to be known where they stood in the history books.

They make us want to be activists for causes.

Not only that, but they make us want to be advocates for the downtrodden.

When I look at other humans I don't see any of the material or cosmetic things, I see their actions. I don't judge people on appearance or gender or sexually orientation. I form my opinion of you based on if you sow division and hatred or not. It really is that simple. People who believe in equal rights for every single human alive our a force for good very close to my heart.

I've often heard people using the term “bleeding heart” as an Insult. As if having empathy is a bad thing, as if having the ability to put yourself in other people's shoes is a bad thing, as if wanting to understand and share another person's experience even if you haven't gone through it yourself is a bad thing, as if having the feelings of sorrow and compassion caused by the suffering and misfortunes of others is a bad thing, as if feeling their pain touches you so deeply it makes you want to automatically and instantly help is a bad thing.

They say all of that is a bad thing, when it's actually the best compliment you could ever get.

You're saying I care about people so deeply that it hurts my heart? Oh, you got me there.


There is nothing more fierce than formidable, unconditional Love. There is not a thing more courageous than compassion and vulnerability.

Superheroes show us toughness is in tenderness and strength is in the service of others.

In times of strife all of the characters I've mentioned have been my family, my friends, my teachers, my colleagues, my idols, and my inspirations etc. When I've felt like I didn't have any of those things, superheroes were the most influential people in my life.

I am so grateful to have all these wonderful characters in my life. I wouldn't change any of it for the world.

superheroes
1

About the Creator

Jay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.