Geeks logo

Universal Storytelling

Laughter, Love, and Comedy

By Krystal NealPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Universal Storytelling
Photo by lan deng on Unsplash

It was Mya's "Oh, Hell No!" from Girlfriends, Nikki Parker's "Heyyyyyy, Professor Olegvee" from The Parkers, and the overbearing and messy moms of Half & Half played by Valarie Pettiford and Telma Hopkins that drew me back in and had me ready to binge all my favorite sitcoms. My eyes burned as I stayed up passed midnight because I didn't want to miss Mya's no-nonsense attitude or Nicki Parker's countless chase of her "BOO." Taking in all the nostalgia of my early teen years, I enjoyed and hated the fact that I had completed each series in a short amount of time. Unsure of what to watch next, I went on a scavenger hunt through Netflix and Hulu to see what would give me the same feeling of my favorite sitcoms. Next thing I knew I was being sucked back in by memorable characters and memorable lines, and I couldn't be more please. Good Girls, Good Trouble, and Bridgeton had me wrapped like a insect in a spider web.

I have to start with my number one pick, Good Girls. I don't know if it was Rio's (played by Manny Montana) subtle but noticeable smirk or the way he said "Elizabeth" that set me off, or maybe it was Annie's (played by Mae Whitman) unorganized and unbalanced life that I identified with because my life always seemed to be a little messy, or nope, it had to be Ruby's (played by Marietta Sirleaf) dare devil morals that had me questioning was I really a good Samaritan or person. Either way, the mom trio alongside the heartthrob Rio, gave me anxiety in a good way. They were the only trio I knew who could rob, steal, and kill just to end up back at square one, BROKE. Owing money to the sexist killer on this planet could either drive you crazy or give you the spirit of a hustler. I'm proud to say my girls were the smartest but dumbest criminals I know however their loyalty never wavered with each other. That's what drew me in. When one got in trouble, they all got in trouble, never giving each other up but coming up with solutions that would help them all. They reminded me of Girlfriends. The same way Joan, Mya, Toni, and Lynn had each other's back through lies, cheating, death, and heartbreak is the same way Elizabeth, Annie, and Ruby had each other's back through marriage pitfalls, lying, stealing, cheating, heartbreak, and death. It didn't get no better than a good girl friend who was down for the ride.

Coming up in the number two position is Good Trouble. Now with Good Trouble, I didn't know what to expect. I had decided to take a chance and see what it was about, I'm happy I did. The show had so much character, so much depth. No topic is untouched. Love, relationships, break-ups, friendship break-ups, political oppression, unjust legal system, and much more as the cast try to navigate through life. Somehow the writer's Joanna Johnson, Bradley Bredeweg, and Peter Paige are able to create a story that depicts the everyday life of millennials and entwining their stories to tell about the everyday struggles, and high and lows. My favorite couple is Malika (played by Zuri Adele) and Issac (played by Sarunas J. Jackson). Their story showcased a love that is rooted in love but also identifies the pain of the world. Malika's witty but strong persona takes her through the hoops of what it is to be activist while Issac cool but manly persona gives balance to Malika's crazy world. Issac is Malika's favorite ice cream after a hard day of fighting for the rights of black people. She can't get enough of him but he also scares her because she's not used to a calm breeze, more of sturdy wind. Their love story is one to watch.

Third but not least, Bridgeton. If you haven't heard about this British masterpiece then you are truly missing out! From the costume design, to heavy dialect, ending with the perfect scenery, Bridgeton gave me a whole bunch of feels. It tells a love story that was so painful, so chaotic, so unapologetic that I begged to have a love like this. A unusual love that started out as a favor from one peer to another but ended up becoming a true affair that neither parties saw coming. The chemistry that Rege-Jean Page and Phoebe Dynevor portray as the character's Simon Basset and Daphne Bridgeton made my heart swooned. It couldn't be denied, they were made for each other. It was the way Simon peered into Daphne's eyes when he couldn't get out the words he wanted to say too her or the way he watched her from across the room as he pretended to not be bothered as countless suitors came up to Daphne offering their best words and finest gifts to gain her hand in marriage and heart in love. It was Daphne's rising chest that gave away to her true feelings whenever her and Simon's hands connected or the spark's she felt in her heart and between her thighs whenever he was close by. Both were doomed from the start when they started this heartless affair and I got to watched it play out. I honestly can't wait until season two because this is one love story I don't want to miss.

All in all, my top three picks have been getting me through the COVID-19 filled world and I hope it does for you. Don't forget, you are deserving of a love that is not attached to trauma or tragedies, however, it doesn't hurt to watch it.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Krystal Neal

I’m a lover of steady love, catarosphic love, easy love, damaging love, tender love, healing love, moody love and sweet love. Go on this journey with me as I write it for you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.