Geeks logo

Top 7 Memorable Side Characters in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Movies

No particular order, just 7!

By Kelly RileyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is one of my favorite movie franchises! I have seen all of them, and I fell in love with each of them. The first one I watched wasn't even the first movie released--Ant-Man--and I love Paul Rudd. He was the absolute perfect person to cast for that role. I had seen him in several other movies and when I learned he was the lead, that sold me on watching my first MCU movie. After that, I had to watch all of them, in order even.

After watching the movies, I was thinking about who I liked the most out of all of the supporting heroes, outside of the more relevant roles. As much as I enjoyed the main super-hero characters, the supporting or sidekicks are the ones who seemed to have the biggest impact on me. So, here are several side characters who caught my attention throughout the entire MCU.

#1 -- Korg (Thor: Ragnarok)

Korg--who's species is Kronan--is one of the funniest side characters of the MCU. He has very little screen time, but he leaves an impression on just about everyone. Korg tends to have some crazy one-liners, leaving the audience cracking up for a matter of minutes, or even using the lines in every day life. I tend to use his a couple of his lines fairly often when I need a laugh.

#2--Yondu Udonta (Guardians of the Galaxy)

Yondu has a slightly more important role, but he is still not one of the main characters of the MCU. Throughout these movies, he has one of the biggest changes of heart, and only in a matter of two movies! He goes from being a hate-filled bounty hunter, to being a father-type figure towards a kid he basically adopted and raised as his own. This almost abrupt change in this character will definitely hit you in the feels.

#3--Heimdall (Thor)

Heimdall is a very interesting side character. Even though he doesn't have a main role, he has a very important one--he controls who comes and goes into Asgard and can see/hear anything going on within the Nine Realms. He was meant to follow orders by Odin (father of Thor) and he does so very fervently. There are some instances where his loyalty to Odin dwindles, and he must do what's best for a whole rather than a one. This is what makes this character so important to the MCU, and thus, one of the most influencial roles.

#4--Cassie Lang (Ant-Man)

Cassie Lang--daughter of Scott Lang (Ant-Man)--is a very important character in the Ant-Man movies. She is a protagonist, always willing to help her dad, the super-hero. She's one of the only people who believes in the capabilities of her father, and without the support of his daughter, he would not have been as amazing a super-hero as he is! The dialog between the two is extremely memorable, whether in Ant-Man or Ant-Man and the Wasp.

#5--Harley Keener (Iron Man 3)

Harley may not have had a major role in the movies, but the influential moment between him and Tony Stark is extremely remarkable. Tony has always had a little bit of a rough side towards people, but when he met this kid, he had a major soft spot. Harley helps Tony fix his suit when he gets stranded. Harley gives him a place to stay and recuperate while he fixes his suit. This is a very substantial relationship in the MCU.

#6--Shuri-Princess of Wakanda (Black Panther)

Shuri is an incredible inventor who has created many exciting and innovative things that help Black Panther in his pursuit to protect Wakanda. She had a rather important role in Black Panther, but she doesn't get very much screen time, so I like to consider her more of a side character. A couple of the inventions she created included Vibranium Gauntlets, a Sonic Spear, and Griot (an A.I.) that helped her as a guide while she invented. She also has some resources, like Kimoyo Beads and Remote Access Kimoyo Beads.

#7--Luis (Ant-Man)

Luis may only be a supporting character in Ant-Man, but he definitely does a good job of helping Lang become Ant-Man. Not only is he comic relief, but he also saved Lang's life while he was doing the heist. He also has more of a role in Ant-Man and the Wasp when he helped Ant-Man and Wasp stop Ghost.

My Personal Favorite

If someone were to ask me which of these seven were my favorite, I would have to say Korg. With all of his cheesy one-liners, and excited personality, he caught my eye immediately. After watching Thor: Ragnarok, I quoted his one-liners for weeks, probably to the extent where I'm pretty sure my boyfriend considered the options of staying or leaving me (obviously, a joke, but I'm sure I was very annoying). I tend to attach myself to a character when I see one that I like.

I hope you enjoyed this article, and that it was helpful in giving you an idea of how interesting and helpful these sidekicks and supporting characters can be.

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.