Geeks logo

Top 5 Graphic Novels of 2021

INTRO

By RedterrorPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Top 5 Graphic Novels of 2021
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

For comics, the first year of the pandemic was a strange year (and every other damn thing). Conventions have been postponed. Local businesses that served as a gathering place for comics fans have closed or shifted to curbside collections. Due to the epidemic and a sudden halt in distribution for several publishers in March, fewer comics were issued. Even though there were lots of difficulties this year, if all of that knocked you off your regular comic-book reading, there were plenty of fantastic publications in 2021 to welcome you back.

5. NIGHTWING

As is customary with Tom Taylor, everything he touches turns to gold. This was a breath of fresh air and a great victory for the DC fandom who had long been yearning for the return of a Nightwing we could get behind, thanks to snappy dialogue, inventive panel layouts, and new Batfam mythology aplenty.

Because this is the first volume of Tom Taylor’s run, the emphasis was on the setup of the larger plot, which was nicely done. I like all of the character cameos and references to the DC universe outside of Nightwing, which the writer lavishly inserted. They were the ones that made the novel entertaining and enjoyable to read.

As if that wasn’t enough, there were a few surprises tucked away in this one, including an unknown past and the entrance of a potential new ally as well as a new foe.

Adriano Lucas’ colours were not unduly rendered but remained effective and atmospheric. Bruno Redondo’s painting was highly expressive, while Adriano Lucas’ colours were not overly portrayed but remained effective and atmospheric. Warm tones added a lot to the emotive and down-to-earth sense of this volume and Nightwing’s persona in general. I don’t normally include editors in my reviews, but Jessica Chen’s contribution and observations were visible right away in this volume, which I thought was amazing to see and really beneficial for both new and experienced readers.

4. BETA RAY BILL

I dug my way out of this. A legendary heavy metal fusion accompanied by amazing artwork and a tale with far more heart than I could have imagined. I’d only read Johnson’s Wonder Woman series, which I didn’t like (apart from the artwork), so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it had me fascinated by the end of the first issue and never let me go.

I believe the resolution is hurried, as is typically the case with 5-issue miniseries, which is a disappointment. However, the trip to get there is jam-packed with fun…

Johnson’s novel had a fantastic hook, and I enjoyed how he probed Bill’s interiority throughout the storey. His writing isn’t quite as rich as his artwork, and it doesn’t get as far into the themes as I’d like. But he still manages to provide some very moving and unexpected moments.

However, the artwork alone is well worth the entry fee. Mike Spicer’s colouring brings everything to life with startling brilliance and vivid depth. Johnson’s visual pace is unsurpassed, and the staging of his action sequences is effortlessly badass (I’m crazy with how many wrestling moves he utilises!). This is one of those rare comics that had me say “oh shit” out loud many times every issue, which is the highest endorsement I can give.

3. BATMAN: 3 JOKERS

This was an excellent book portraying the ‘Bat-family, in my opinion. This damaged crimefighting trio investigates Gotham City’s latest lawbreaking issue… which appears to be not one but THREE separate Jokers leaving a trail of death and destruction… drawing on the longstanding psychological trauma affecting Bruce Wayne’s Batman (witnessing his parents’ murder as a child), Jason Todd’s Robin-turned-Red Hood (savagely beaten and left for dead by the Joker), and Barbara Gordon’s Batgirl (being shot by the Joker and suffering paralysis), This is one of those dark graphic novels — and I don’t just mean because the majority of it takes place at night, as a proper Batman storey should — with its depicted violence (the copious blood splatters freely like a DePalma or Tarantino film) and its depicted violence (the copious blood splatters freely like a DePalma or Tarantino film) and its depicted violence (the copious blood splatter).

THE HUMOR (the Joker, of course, and his off quips), gives the plot some much-needed edge. It was easy for this book to feel like a rehash — after all, how many times has a major Batman vs. Joker fight been depicted? — yet it was nonetheless powerful.

2. Batman: The Imposter

Andrea Sorrentino’s work is fantastic. The conflicts that have been chosen to be explored are intriguing. Early Batman stories are usually fascinating because they have built-in tensions that are unavailable later in Batman’s career.

Detective Wong is definitely my favourite aspect of the novel; her character is intriguing, and I’m interested to see how she develops more.

The way Bruce is depicted in this isn’t my favourite method of portraying him. I want him to be a little softer, as in the animated series or the Snyder Capullo run.

Naturally, I’ll have issues with a more grounded version of Batman. I used to like more grounded Batman stories, but of days I prefer the lighthearted spirit of detective adventure novels. Where the storey takes it seriously enough to work while yet acknowledging how ridiculous the notion may be.

This is a pretty serious take on the character of Batman. I believe this issue is done extremely well; it’s paced nicely after the initial scene and knows when to focus on different characters and when to allow the art to do the work.

1. The Nice House On The Lake

I want to keep this as spoiler-free as possible !!

I was suspicious of the glowing reviews for this series, but I was mistaken. I seldom stop reading beyond a few of pages every issue, either to examine the nuances of the art, the narrative developments, and the mystery of it all, or just to make sure I’m still sane while having fun. James Tynion IV, I salute you. I’ve read thousands of comic books throughout the years, and from now on, I’ll refer to you as a huge name, rather than a talented novice, like I did when I first saw your name on the New 52 comics. It’s been a long and winding road. If you want to get into comics/graphic novels this is your jam.

please folow me :)

comics
1

About the Creator

Redterror

RedTerror, a dynamic news organization, providing insightful perspectives on current affairs. Stay informed, broaden horizons, and embrace the power of knowledge with RedTerror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.