Geeks logo

The Princess Diaries - A Movie Review

'The Princess Diaries' is an impactful story that illustrates the importance to love yourself for who you are.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nobody can quit being who they are. Allow yourself to make the journey.

The Princess Diaries was released to theaters in 2001. 15-year-old clumsy Mia Thermopolis finds out that she is the heiress to the Genovia throne. With the help of her grandmother who is the queen, everything changes for Mia very quickly.

I cannot believe that it has been almost twenty years since The Princess Diaries was released. Movies have an impact on you. Watching this film again in my twenties was a very different experience from when I watched it when I was six. The Princess Diaries is an impactful story that illustrates the importance to love yourself for who you are.

Anne Hathaway is the highlight. In her film debut, Hathaway was fantastic as the quirky and very clumsy Mia. She got the role because she actually fell out of her chair in the audition! Mia became an integral figure for all young women. She likes who she is. Her journey is thought-provoking and she brought out a meaningful lesson.

My most recent watch of The Princess Diaries changed my opinion about Julie Andrews’ character. Queen Clarisse Renaldi is a sophisticated woman who helps Mia act like a mannerable princess. The way she made an effort to relate to Mia and even spend time with her doing activities that she would never partake in made me adore her. She has hidden traits.

Mia and Clarisse’s relationship is the core of the film. It is very important to have a relationship with your grandparents. Scenes with Clarisse advising Mia to have better manners are the best. I enjoyed Andrews’s reactions. Hathaway and Andrews did a terrific job building an authentic relationship that has made me cherish The Princess Diaries all the more.

The Princess Diaries has notable acting talents. Credits to include are Hector Elizondo, Heather Matarazzo, Mandy Moore, Caroline Goodall, Robert Schwartzman, Erik von Detten, Sandra Oh, and Larry Miller. And even an adorable cat which was Anne Hathaway’s very own cat. I remember that I always talked about the cat in the film when I was young.

No matter what, you will always have somebody to guide you. Joe (Elizondo) became one of my favorite characters. He looks out for Mia and gives her helpful advice. You never know who will help you. A shoutout goes to the gym teacher (Mindy Burbano) for an unexpected heroic moment.

I have mixed opinions about Lilly (Matarazzo). As Mia’s best friend she ridicules her over her new makeover. Her bullying becomes so bad that she makes Mia cry! Again, watching this film changed my opinion about her when Lilly and Mia have a heart-to-heart friendship talk. Jealous or not, I was not fond of her behavior to Mia.

Garry Marshall brought a new fairytale to the big screen. The Princess Diaries is an enchanting classic. It’s a character film. It explored different angles. He worked very well with his actors along with making the right changes from the book for a film adaptation. It is not the most original story, but to me, it’s all about appreciating the little things in life.

Never let anybody change who you are. Mia is beautiful before she was forced to change her physical appearance. That overall message has been in conversation over the years. We are all beautiful. Be yourself. Follow your dreams and make decisions that are right for you.

The Princess Diaires will never get old. I laughed so many times. Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews are the highlights of the film. It is an enjoyable film for all audiences.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.