Geeks logo

The Power of a Fandom

My Love For Sanditon

By T. DodsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
12

The ‘about this contest’ section had a line that said: If you can't get enough of Pride and Prejudice, then Bridgerton is the show for you. I beg to differ. If you’re a fan of Jane Austen’s work, then watch her last, unfinished book come to life with the help of screenwriter Andrew Davies, the same man who wrote the screenplay for the nineteen-ninety-five version of Pride and Prejudice. Watch the entrancing love story between Charlotte Heywood and Sidney Parker develop just as Jane would have written it. Watch the heartache they both face just as Jane Austen would have wanted it. Then after you do, come find the fandom on Twitter and let us support you through your own heartache when the show ends. We will be ready and waiting with open arms.

The only difference between what Jane would have written and what Andrew Davies wrote for season one is the lack of happily ever after. We know Andrew Davies had that coveted HEA planned, but unfortunately the show was cancelled after the first season. It has become a year-long battle for the Sanditon Sisterhood fandom to save our show and we very likely may have done it.

Have you ever been a part of a fandom? People from all over the world that come together because of one show or movie that hits them so hard it’s all they think about. I’ve been part of two. The first was the Twilight fandom, which was large, loud, and crazed. I can’t even begin to tell you all the wonderful things the Twilight fandom did for so many charities and non-profit organizations around the world all in the name of Twilight. The other, more recent fandom is the Sanditon fandom, where like-minded people from all over the world have come together for one common goal; to save our show.

This eight-episode show has brought thousands of us together who have now all become support systems, cheerleaders, helpers, but most importantly friends for each other. In times like the pandemic, it’s exactly what everyone needed. I don’t know if some of us would have mentally made it through the pandemic without the support and friendships we’ve made through this fandom. These friendships go beyond Twitter or Facebook. These friendships are for life.

Sanditon is one of those shows that I could recommend in many genres. Do you like romances? Then I suggest Sanditon. Do you like dramas? Then I suggest Sanditon. Do you like period dramas? Then I suggest Sanditon. Do you like movies based on books? Then I suggest Sanditon. If you’re a fan of the biggest show to hit Netflix called Bridgerton, I suggest Sanditon. If you’re a fan of Jane Austen, I suggest Sanditon. Are you a fan of the tall, handsome, brooding leading man? I suggest Sanditon. Do you enjoy a show with strong women characters? I suggest Sanditon.

I’ve always been a fan of period dramas. I’m sure I’ve watched just about every possible show or movie that depicts a time I can only imagine about now. My love for period dramas began with Little House on the Prairie. I devoured every episode each week, I read the entire series of books multiple times, and I’ve watched every TV movie ever created with an adaptation of the stories. As an adult, I continued my love for period dramas, Jane Austen adaptations being some of my most favorite. When I heard about Sanditon being made into a series and being shown on PBS Masterpiece Theatre, I knew I’d love it before it even aired. I wasn’t prepared for how much this show would draw me in and not let me go. I was not prepared to fall in love with each and every character. I was not prepared for it to end. I was not prepared to be pulled into another fandom that, in my opinion, has some of the kindest and supportive people around. Not only does this fandom continue each day to save our own beloved story, we help other fandoms out as well. What may start out as a friendly rivalry, turns into a support of everyone’s efforts for other shows. I’ve signed petitions to save other shows that I have never even watched simply to support the fandom doing the same as we are for Sanditon.

With the love and devotion this captivating show has, it is very likely we have saved our show. It’s amazing what a group of random people all over the world can do when we put our minds to it. In January, it was discovered that a company for Sanditon Season Two was registered in the UK. As an American, I had no idea what that meant, as most other Americans didn’t either. Thanks to our British friends, we were told that to film something in the UK it has to be registered as a company with the government first. Imagine all of this fandom cheering and sighing in relief that our year of efforts had finally paid off. However, there is still that little bit of doubt. Despite the belief that our beloved show has been saved, we still wait for final confirmation. We still continue to dedicate our lives to saving our show each and every day. If being a part of a fandom has taught me one thing, it’s that there is power in numbers. Don’t underestimate the power of a fandom.

tv
12

About the Creator

T. Dodson

I'm a mom, first and foremost. I enjoy writing fiction more than anything else.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.