Geeks logo

The Peaceful Warrior

Better to be a warrior in a garden...

By Dresden JamesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Bzzz... Bzzz...

A simple sound.

Just a hum really.

Until it pierces the skin, then it's harmonic. Resonate. Transcendent.

The Tattoo Gun... set, held and tuned like an instrument by its master. Your skin, the canvas, in an instant becomes limitless, and something new, more than what is was before, a limb you've seen your entire life will soon be a fresh site, and you'll part of club that understands, and a history filled with legends and ancient traditions.

Of the all the times I've sat in that chair, no one time has been like the other. My favorite and most memorable piece was recently; the inked lines are still healing as of my writing this in fact.

I will never be a the main character of a story the world reads about. The headlines will never feature my direct works and I will never break any records of note. I will, however, influence many that will. I am youth coach, mindset developer, trainer, and mentor. I listen and learn. I grow and teach. I influence and love, tryingly, unconditionally.

My most recent tattoo reflects exactly this belief I have in myself.

Growing up I loved anything cartoon, comic, or anime related... well, I can't say "loved", I still very much love them now. My newest piece is my homage to that youth and the principals I carry with me everyday. It has four parts to it, one for each of the major parts of me; the father, the peaceful warrior, the teacher, and the peer.

The Father is imaged by one of the greatest father, mentors, and masters every written. It belongs to Master Splinter of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. He raised sons that were not of his blood, the same way my father raised me... but that's a story for another time. He raised them with expectations, patience, and acceptance that each one of them were allowed to express and embrace their individual uniqueness.

The Peaceful Warrior is imaged by the creator and master of the fighting style, Mu No Ken, "The Fist of Nothingness." It belongs to Master Gouken, master of the Street Fighter II characters Ryu and Ken. The Fist of Nothingness is a state of being that transcends ordinary perspective, born through spiritual and mental refinement. It draws upon the contents of one's own heart, intuitively moving the body without obstacle or hesitation. I find this is an ongoing challenge, moving without hesitation, and therefore my current favorite of the four honored.

The Teacher is imaged by the previous master of the Jade Palace, creator of the Valley of Peace, and the seer who prophesized the coming of the legendary Dragon Warrior. It belongs to Master Oogway, Grand Master of the Kung Fu Panda. He passed on his wisdom and knowledge, gained through a lifetime of reflection and battles, with not only challenging lessons but most often by allowing his students the opportunity to make mistakes and to have faith that the balance of the universe will work its out. "There are no accidents."

Lastly, The Peer is imaged by the Master of the Turtle Hermit way and the developer of the Kamehameha Wave. It belongs to Master Roshi, Master of the several characters from the Dragon Ball Universe, including Goku, it's main character. Master Roshi taught "work hard, study well, eat and sleep plenty!" He would, after his students reached adulthood, be surpassed by them in ability and "power," but he never lost their respect. He became their confidant and ultimately their peer. This is what I hope for amongst my students; that they will one day very much surpass me, that they pass on my teachings, and they will see me one day as their peer.

I will continue to grow and teach and so to will my ink.

.

art
1

About the Creator

Dresden James

I am an attitude alchemisting, positivity pioneering, mindset mastering, wordsmithing jack of all. My course is the untraveled; my journey, yours to follow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.