Geeks logo

(The Owl House Fanfic)Raine's Gender Journey, chapter 2: Mom

This is chapter 2, the chapters must be read in order. The link to chapter one is in the body of the story. This is the story about how Raine figured out that they are nonbinary. They're dating Eda so you will get that in this series. This series is written by a non-binary person. In this chapter, we meet Raine's mom and a bit of their home life.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
The trans flag as a gradient in the back ground. There is the transgender symbol which is mostly purple. On top of that there is Raine's head(the head is from a piece I commissioned from WolfShearArt) and above and below that is the title of the series and the name of the chapter.

Chapter 1: The Egg Cracks

When school let out, I waited for Eda to come meet me outside so we could walk home together, Lilith normally walks with us as we live nearby so we are all are walking in the same direction, it doesn't make sense for us not to go together. Lilith often watches us interact. She at times seems a little... obsessed with our relationship, or relationships in general. She says that she never felt that way with anyone. Whenever her questions make me feel uncomfortable, Eda always steps in and gets her to stop.

Ever since my parents found out that I'm dating Eda, she often walks the rest of the way with me, sometimes even inviting herself inside for a snack. I wish I could be as bold and confident as her.

"Baran, I'm here to give a message from Edalyn, she had gotten in trouble, again, and needs to stay after to face the consequences of her actions," I sighed as a small smile molded my lips without my control. I love Eda, even her rebellious streak which I actually envy knowing I'd never have the courage to do most of the things she did.

"Edalyn would like to meet you at the library, she doesn't think she'll be in trouble for too long this time," we walked together for a bit as we were heading in the same direction. We talked a little, or more she talked, I'm not a big fan of talking to people besides Eda, who I don't even consider a person anymore. To an introvert that is actually a compliment. I thought of Lilith kind of as a sister figure at this point. It was still hard holding up my part of a conversation. With Lilith that was rarely a problem. When there is something that she is interested in, she'd happily do most of the talking. She usually stopped if no one showed interest in it. The past few days the topic was psychology. Which I actually found interesting, though it boards Eda. So walking with just her was nice, we actually lingered where our paths split for a few extra minutes talking before I had to leave so my parents wouldn't get worried.

When I got home, I was greeted by my mom and a batch of fresh-baked cookies, "Oh, Baran sweetie, how was your day?"

"It-it was fine," I grabbed a cookie, hoping my blush or possibly a dreamy expression didn't show. That was how they found out that I was dating Eda. "I-I have a lot of homework that doesn't r-require me to play so I'm going do it at the l-library, and f-find a new book to r-read, I'm al-almost done with the last one."

"Ok," she ruffled my hair, "just be sure your back before sundown I know how picky you are with books," she smiled.

I hate lying to my parents, but the reading excuse always seemed to work. I do like reading but I rarely finish a book, I just use it as an excuse to get out of the house and come back with a book I picked out in less than a minute. I then "read" it quickly and then need time to find a new one. I'm fourteen and I'm still not allowed to be anywhere unsupervised. I'm glad they let me walk to school by myself. My parents can be suffocating. I still can't believe that they're okay with me dating Eda, well, as long as we're never alone, that is.

AN

If you like this story but are caught up? I have and several different series that I am working on that you can take a look at, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, comment, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
3

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.