Geeks logo

The Mole: The Best TV Show That No One Remembers

Oh, but you will.

By Raine NealPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

As a child of divorce, there aren't many childhood memories I look back on that involve my entire family. But, don't feel too bad for me because The Mole fills the void. One memory that I can always look back on without fault is watching The Mole. The Mole, believe it or not, was a smash hit television show from the early 2000s. Anderson Cooper hosted the first two seasons, and the show brought a never-been-done-before kind of action and drama to that era of reality TV. My family and I would gather on the couch and watch the madness unfold. My dad would immediately call someone out and they would usually end up being The Mole -- I'm still not sure how he knew. But it's no small gesture to say this show is nostalgic heaven for me and that I still harbor an obsession with it.

The premise of The Mole was just this -- strangers met up in a foreign country to join together in challenges and earn money, only one wins. Sounds simple enough. But with one catch. Amongst the team is a mole -- one of their own a saboteur in disguise. This player must make small actions to throw players off their scent and keep money out of the pot during challenges, but they must do this while remaining undetected. At the end of each week, the players will take a quiz about the mole's identity and answer according to their suspicions of who the Mole is. Whoever gets the least amount of questions correct is sent home. Think 'Among Us' but more complex. And if you're too old for 'Among Us' then you were probably watching The Mole when it was on TV anyway and don't need the comparison.

So, why am I explaining a 20-year-old TV show to you? Because, just like all the other 20-year-old TV shows, The Mole has made its way to Netflix! As of June 21, seasons 1 and 2 of The Mole (which may or may not be the best seasons (they definitely are)) are now available for your viewing pleasure. Season 5 was also pretty good but it was more high-tech, had a new host, and is not on Netflix, so it's not getting a big mention. Now, for legal reasons, I have not ever watched The Mole-reuploads illegally on YouTube with my older sister repeatedly BUT, if I had, I would be ecstatic about the reemergence of it to this more accessible platform.

I'm thrilled for this easy access on one of the most popular streaming platforms because I have tried to get everyone I know to enjoy The Mole. Because I was just born when the first season aired, none of my friends have experienced this show. My two older siblings and tons of The Mole reruns made my love for it possible. Although, I don't think it's just age that keeps them from knowing. While the show was wildly popular and had great ratings, no one seems to talk about this show besides its niche little fan club, which includes myself. Since no one is talking about it, I am making it my personal duty to change that; although I am sure that its being on Netflix will do that for me just fine, I never miss an opportunity to hype this show. I just think it's so good and one-of-a-kind that every0ne should have the pleasure of viewing it. While there have been shows that rival it, such as the extremely successful Amazing Race, nothing quite hits like The Mole does. Not only was it so ahead of its time and had crazy games and tasks but I haven't even talked about the best part of the show. The Contestants.

When I say that I am obsessed with the casts of both seasons 1 and 2, I mean that I genuinely love and care for their well-being. Okay, so maybe that's a little overboard. However, it isn't overboard to say that the casting directions of the series definitely deserved well above their pay. Even cast members who leave in early episodes make a lasting impression without being over the top or annoying like many reality television personalities can be. Maybe it's a sign of the times, or maybe it's the genius of the casting directors making sure that each person is normal and relatable. You could even be rooting for or sympathizing with a player who is the dreaded Mole. That's the beauty of the whole The Mole experience.

While I won't spoil anything, I will say that one of my favorite players from season 1 is Steven and one of my favorite players from season 2 is Elavia. Both seasons have excellent casts, excellent challenges, and excellent Moles.

So, if you have the time, go check out an amazing TV show and spread the word! Just be sure to give me credit for introducing you to your new favorite reality show.

xx The Mole

Ahhh, just kidding. But I would love to be considered if the show were ever picked back up, wink wink.

tv
2

About the Creator

Raine Neal

Just trying to make it through the days - writing is a great way to stay distracted and refreshed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.