Geeks logo

“The Menu” - My Thoughts 💭

Film Review, 2022

By Grz ColmPublished about a year ago 3 min read
17

The film starts with a “title card” stating that you are invited to “The Menu” - although if you have seen the trailer there is a risk that you just might find yourself on it! This film won’t work for everyone. Described as a comedy-thriller; it operates on an allegorical level rather than straight-forward storytelling. In some ways this works, yet an over the top climax doesn’t hit emotionally and more so in an obscure black-comedy fashion in its bleak satire of a blatantly consumerist society and class divides. Within the first 30 minutes you frequently wonder where all this is heading - yet there are a number of little twists (just really left of centre ones) and whether or not you find these satisfying is purely up to personal taste.

“The Menu” concerns a number of small groups of guests that are mostly upper class citizens keen to try celebrated Chef Julian Slowik’s (Ralph Fiennes) renowned dishes at the Hawthorn restaurant situated on a private island. The menu itself consists of seven to eight courses that become increasingly surprising for the guests as well as the audience. It is a tantalising concept for fans of black humour and social commentary, or those that enjoy reality TV shows set in the culinary world. As the guests begin to critique the dishes before them (much to the chef’s chagrin) we start to wonder whether it is an elaborate hoax, a T.V show being filmed or just an absurd carnival that asks us whether we are the giver, the taker and whether or not we even deserve a spot on this planet. The film takes a little while to heat up, but when it does you are frequently trying to work things out philosophically and dramatically. Allow yourself to be confused, as that might help you unlock the meanings and themes of this piece helmed by one of the directors of TV’s “Succession” Mark Mylod.

Elsa (Hong Chau)

The performances of the cast are more than adequate, yet overall there is the feeling that these characterisations, while representing facets of our contemporary society aren’t exactly richly layered. Anya Taylor-Joy is seemingly popping up everywhere of late and she is as intriguing and alluring as ever here. She stars alongside Nicholas Hoult as a young couple Margot and Tyler, with the latter who is obsessed with the world of high-end restaurants. Other entitled guests include Janet McTeer who play a food critic and John Leguizamo who plays a top-knob movie star. Hong Chau (most recently lauded for her performance in “The Whale”) also appears as Elsa, the stern host of the exclusive Hawthorn. Ralph Fiennes’ lead performance helps orchestrate the frequently odd and foreboding tone of the film without jeopardising the comedic irony of his role. “The Menu” has a large cast, but the focus of the film is really on the symbolic and social commentary the director wishes to purport that we don’t get to see these characters as real flesh and blood. And maybe that’s partly the point. I only wish the dialogue had a bit more snap, crackle and pop throughout, but overall I believe it’s even worth a rewatch to pick up on particular elements to gain a greater understanding of the film’s intentions, after all there are many YouTubers out there outlining and answering what the hell is this film really about?

This darkly-comic allegorical drama might pass you by, yet don’t let it. Its strange effect is unlike most other movies of the minute. In fact, we have been getting a few films of late such as the recent “Barbarian” and its humorous social commentary in the horror vein, that again plays with tropes instead of turning the tales into pure cliché.

I am giving “The Menu” 3.5 tasty s’mores out of five

You can now check out “The Menu” on streaming (on Disney+ in Australia) and DVD/Blu-ray

* Thanks for checking out my film review. I am a massive film buff, so if you are too please subscribe for more. If you liked it, please let me know by hitting the heart. Many thanks.

You can also check out my recent film review of “The Northman” here:

Check out the trailer for “The Menu” below:

review
17

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Great review!!! I loved this movie, but I did think it lacked, in your words "snap crackle pop" in the conversations. I enjoyed the social commentary though!

  • Heidi McCloskey10 months ago

    Great review. I agree, Anya Taylor-Joy does appear to be popping up all over the place lately. I really enjoy her as an actress. I haven’t checked this movie out yet, although I have seen the trailer a couple of times. I will have to watch it now.

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    Love your perspective!! Thanks for sharing!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I wasn't sure whether to watch this - I think im gonna give it a whirl 😁

  • Ted Ryan11 months ago

    Brilliant review, you made a lot of great points!

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    I will check this out then. Very compelling review spiced with just the right amount of criticism to make me look but not expect too much.

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Great analysis. This review really considers all aspects of ‘The Menu’ experience. It’s such a weird film to categorize. This one kept me guessing. I am a cooking reality show fan. Loved the satire. As for the fate of each naughty guest, it felt like an even darker ‘Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory’ for adults. 😂

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    I actually just watched The Menu, This has to be watched with an open mind. I wish I had read your review first. It was smartly done, concepts of bringing together all the bad of the world and evaporating them, I liked. The young lady had not been meant to be there, therefore she was saved, though she is just as bad. The nuances and twists were ok. I give it a 3 at best. Provided I got the gist of it. I may have to watch it again.

  • The Menu has been simmering in my To Watch List but I've been skipping it because my cousin told me that she didn't really enjoy it. I'm not someone who judges something before actually trying it or watching it so yes, it's still in my list, lol. As for Barbarian, I was very disappointed. For me, it was cliché and too predictable. Oh I forgot to mention to you. I've already watched M3GAN and found that to be cliché and predictable too. I guess it takes a lot to actually surprise me, lol. Anyway, this was a great review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.