Geeks logo

The Menu - A Movie Review

'The Menu' is a stylistic piece of cinema that does not disappoint.

By Marielle SabbagPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Don’t just eat. Taste. Savor. Run.

Released from the oven into theaters in 2022, The Menu surfaces around a group of people invited to Hawthorne, an exclusive restaurant on an island. The chef prepares lavish meals. While enjoying their meals, they discover why they are there.

I had a cheeseburger right after viewing this film. I have waited a long time to see The Menu. It did not disappoint. The Menu is a stylistic piece of cinema. This film has more under is layers than one thinks.

The Menu is a character film. That’s what I liked most about it. Right off the bat, we’re introduced to all the characters. All actors successfully channeled their character's personalities.

Ralph Fiennes and Anya Taylor-Joy were the cast highlights. Fiennes’ performance was a mix of intimidation but also harboring insecurities. You do not want to send your plate back to Chef Slowik. Or you will regret it. Fiennes played this role very well. To perfection, if I may add.

As for Taylor-Joy, she has come into her own as an actress. Her performance was my favorite. Margot is a bold young woman. She is not afraid to speak her mind. I love when she stood up to Chef Slowik.

The ensemble for The Menu was stellar. Every interaction, character choice, and line delivery was top-notch. They all knew what type of film they were making. Some credits include Nicholas Hoult, Hong Chau, Janet McTeer, Paul Adelstein, John Leguizamo, Reed Birney, and Judith Light.

Depending on what field you work in, you have seen this person. Relationships, personalities, and dark secrets play a factor. Nobody's secret is safe.

Like the meals, filming The Menu was accomplished in the most effective complimentary style, and yet it was so simple. Mark Mylod signified eye-worthy camera angles. Subtlety is the film’s main ingredient. It is not wasted.

Christopher Tellefsen deserves as much credit for his artful editing. One moment you’re gasping and then you’re giggling. The birthday cake never gets old. My theater laughed whenever the title’s for dishes appeared on the screen. Audience reaction was my favorite part of my theater experience. Tyler (Hoult) was funny in his ignorant obsessions with Chef Slowik’s dishes.

The dark humor was one of my favorite elements. I was not expecting it. The Menu is over the top, especially when it all comes down to the third act. The tone shifts are crafted with sharp wit, sarcasm, and clever dialogue. You need to remind yourself that it is satire. It’s not just about one thing. We have all been obsessed.

You’ll either be salivating or be glad you’re not with the characters. Delicious meals are prepared. I could almost smell it. Meals were prepared by Dominique Crenn, a female French chef. Unlike how the characters nibbled away at their meals, in actuality, the food was only inedible props.

The setting for The Menu also plays a noteworthy part. Restaurants are meant to be exciting places. Not Hawthorne. Trapped inside the ornamental walls and enormous glass windows, you’re forced to witness what else is coming out of the oven.

I had no idea what to expect when I went to see this movie. That’s how you should walk into this film. Do not look up anything about The Menu. I’ll warn you that some scenes contain violence.

Go see The Menu. I had a blast. It’s not what I expected. It’s an original film that I’m sure will impress any movie lover. See it while it’s still in theaters.

celebritiescomedyentertainmentmoviepop culturereviewsatire
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Marielle Sabbag is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.