Geeks logo

The IN's and OUT's of ABC's The Bachelor

It seems as though this season of the Bachelor is already stirring up the most drama. From champagne-gate to the return of Hannah Brown we are all on the edges of our seats as Peter Weber continues his “journey to find love” (if we can safely say that’s what they are really doing on that show anymore).

By Morgan MacDonaldPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
Kelsey has gone from the dramatic Miss Iowa USA pot stirring cry baby to the lovable girl who got a one on one with Peter in Week 4. Safe to say we never know who we are going to love on this season.

I can’t imagine the stress of filming a season of the Bachelor. Much less the anxiety in my head the entire time that everything you do really does get broadcasted for millions of viewers. (Poor Kelsey, that beloved champagne bottle was such a waste of tears and time) And boy are we a ruthless audience? I mean let’s give these girls a break! They put their ENTIRE lives on the line to find LOVE (shouldn’t they win an Academy Award or something?!?) I know if I were to go on the show I would no more be in it for love than Blake was at Stagecoach for the Music. I’d certainly sign up for a TV show to get a FabFitFun deal and a 100k Insta followers, look at Demi-Not-Lavato. She’s loving her instant fame and notoriety.

So the first thing I’d do if I was on the show would be to take in the beautiful mansion that I was living in! You never know when you won’t get a rose girly so stop crying in the corner and take a dip in the pool! Hell I’d be running around streaking and screaming from the rooftop! And get this! The Bachelor Mansion is SOMEONE'S HOUSE! "Twice a year, 59-year-old Marshall Haraden and his family move out of their home so ABC can transform the villa into the set and mansion that we see on T.V. They film inside the home for 42 days out of the year." -(Hermoments.com) I was shook when I read this online. Someone must be pretty generous to lend their entire estate to a handful of thirsty twenty somethings hoping for love and newfound fame. But thank you Mr. Haraden, you give this girl and millions others entertainment for a few months out of the year and millions of wine nights are a product of your generosity.

Alayah actually made me proud when she was drunkenly wearing the captain hat and making a scene on episode 3. It’s a shame they don’t show the girls having more fun! Alayah is one of three Miss USA girls on this season. We know there is Victoria P. former Miss LouisianaUSA , Alayah, former Miss Texas USA, and also Kelsey, former Miss Idaho USA ! The Pageant world is gleaming with joy as their girls graduate on to bigger and better things. Thanks Hannah B. and Caelynn. “In 2017, The Verge examined how the contestants keep themselves busy with in lieu of screen time. Season 17 contestant AshLee Frazier said the only book allowed during her tenure in the house was the Bible, though other contestants said they were allowed to bring "printed content" (though not magazines).” This would be super hard for me, not having a phone or laptop to do social media, or even read a good novel when I’m feeling anxious! I respect these contestants way more knowing they are so secluded.

Read More: https://www.nickiswift.com/139287/rules-the-contestants-on-the-bachelor-have-to-follow/?utm_campaign=clip

Order me some food! Uber Eats anyone? It’s a known rule that the contestants and the Bachelor can’t actually eat the food on the romantic dates. So yeah that yummy steak and baked potato you see between Hannah G. And Colton? They can’t touch it! I’d be the first to say that’s totally unfair, but anyways I think my way of putting my middle finger up to producers would be to order a shit-ton of food to the mansion. And the alcohol? "'All the booze you can drink! One contestant recalls, “It’s weird, but the mansion becomes your home so it’s kind of like a really jacked up, well-stocked sorority house. The pantry, fridge, freezer, etc. were all overflowing with food to accommodate everyone’s dietary restrictions.”' (Hermoments.com) Those poor souls that overindulge in the booze night one, you just want to give them a big hug through the TV screen!

Allegedly limo order matters. Yes, the order the contestants come out of the black limos is strategic and formulated! Sean Lowe found this out while filming The Bachelorette. “Producers said to me, ‘You are going to be the first one out of the limo… everyone here thinks you are going to do well.’ They want you to get the show started off on the right foot.” (hermoments.com) Now we know why all the boring one's get stuck in the middle! So I can go grab my mid-episode snack and get a potty break. See, the Bachelor producers really do care about our sanity!

Workout!!! Along with eating all of the food I can in between dates and filming, I’d have to try my best to stay in shape somehow. According to online sources there is no gym or weights in the mansion so the contestants often resort to their own creative ways to getting their fitness in. "There's no workout room here, but there's a hill in the back that girls would run up to exercise," Molly Mesnick, "Bachelor" season 13's runner-up and eventual winner, told The Ashley's Reality Round Up. I’d have to run around the house to work off some of my anger from cocktail parties!

MAKE FRIENDS! Hug me sista!!!! One of my biggest pet peeves is when girls (or guys) on the show make the claim "I am not here to make friends, I am here to find love!" Well okay sweetie but in the chance that you don't end up with the Neil Lane ring and contract to sign a life away with Peter Weber, you will probably end up being friends with atleast 10 of the girls, if you handled yourself well. I certainly wouldn't be trying to make too many enemies during my time in the mansion or filming. Those girls have quite an impact! One wrong word and you could be sent home! A great example of someone I have loved watching is Tammy Kay Ly. The New York House Flipper is fiesty and doesn't let anyone get to her. I would try to be something like Tammy on my time on screen and off. Why not be authentic while having fun!? Some of the girls on this season are just BLAH at being "real for Peter" and need to get their head's out of their asses becasue before they know it they will be on a plane back home with no Instagram Ambassador job waiting for them because they had zero personality. She is hysterical in the on-screen interviews, keeps her cool with the girls, and tries to stay out of the drama.

Another fan favorite of mine, and everyone in Auburn, Alabama for that matter is Madison Prewett. Can I get a War Eagle for the people in the back?!?! We all love Madi becasue she is as real as can be and obviously isn't in it for the BULL CRAP! She is sincerely sweet as can be, stealing Peter's heart from what seemed like day one. She got the first one-on-one date and I don't think it will be her last! Peter is definitely into her and her southern spirit.

It’s been said that the producers and casting directors do thorough testing and research on these girls before putting them behind the camera. But can we really say that they are doing the best job? Or maybe they are. Does anyone remember Vienna from Jake P’s season. I don’t know if I could have handled her Grade A psycho level ness. As ABC News reported in 2010, the vetting process is rigorous and includes an STD screening and "an 800-question psyche evaluation." According to Dr. Catherine Selden, who conducted evaluations on contestants, "We want to make sure that people are going to be OK with coping with the stress involved, and make sure that they are going to be offered the help that they need if it's the case."

Read More: https://www.nickiswift.com/139287/rules-the-contestants-on-the-bachelor-have-to-follow/?utm_campaign=clip

The applications are intense: You have to go through a background check, STD test, and psychological examination. You also have to sign a contract saying ABC can disclose any information they learn about you while on the show to third parties. Does anyone remember that one girl who was hooking up with the producer guy while filming. I mean if I could put a million lauging emoji's by this I would because that was basically reality TV GOLD. Link to Rozlyn Accused Of "Inappropriate" Relationship With TV Producer is dropped here because I can't resist... Even Chris Harrison has trouble choking this one out... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x46xOLaQgBc

tv
Like

About the Creator

Morgan MacDonald

college gal committed to finding lifestyle hacks and the cutest outfits

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.