Geeks logo

The Grey Quiet

Excavating Seven Days In

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6
In The Grey Quiet

Introduction

I was vaguely thinking of writing a fiction called "The Silence" or "The Quiet" without treading on the concept of the film "The Quiet Place", then came across a Seven Days In post called "The Grey Quiet" and thought it might be worth sharing on Vocal.

It is part diary entry and part idea that never got any further, well not until I found myself on Vocal.

So without further ado, this was what I posted in January 2020. Just a bit more of me and my thoughts.

The Grey Quiet

This was a phrase that came to me when I was out early Sunday morning, the sound of my footsteps disappeared almost before my feet hit the floor, there were no vehicles and the only person I saw was someone soundlessly walking their dog. The dog never barked. There was no wind, there was just an uncanny stillness in the air. It was quiet, and the quiet seemed to swallow all the sound.

It was an almost science fiction scenario, imagine if it was always like that. I'm sure there is at least a short story in this scenario, but it was something I just wanted to write down. Maybe I will revisit it sometime in the future.

Normally in life, there is sound and movement but when you are the only thing moving and making any sound it gives an unusual feeling of loneliness. There are times you need to be alone, but not all the time. When I write these posts I can only do it when I have my own space and time.

So I still haven't finished "Riders on the Storm" but John Densmore has reached the making of "LA Woman" and according to him the word "Mojo" is a negro word for sexual prowess, I'd always assumed it was sort of charisma. This comes from the phrase in the title song of the album, as I've said seven minutes, one and a half chords and a riff and totally brilliant, "Mr Mojo Risin" which is an anagram of Jim Morrison. To record the album, which Paul Rothschild didn't want to produce, so he didn't, the band co-produced it with long-term engineer Bruce Botnick and "regressed" from 16 Track to 8 Track recording, recorded it in a couple of weeks and credited all songs to the band, going back to the situation with their first two albums, and producing one of their best discs.

So I am now off to the doctor and leave you with "LA Woman"

Conclusion

While I find the Doors very pretentious I do enjoy their early music with Jim Morrison, and I tried to write a poem in his style which I will tack on to the end of this story.

That story concept is now back in my mind swirling around, and it may finally appear in some kind of creepy horror form.

This is the benefit of having two and a half thousand stories on Seven Days In that I can dip into, share here and be inspired by to create new stories. It has been said that in order to be able to write you have to read, ideally voraciously, and that means that to have reading material you have to support other writers and creators in one way or another.

So I will leave you with this sort of messy post from me, but this is just how my creativity works. This morning there was no plan for this to re-exist, but I saw that title and thought I have to share this with my friends and audience and hope that maybe I can inspire them a little.

And here's me trying to channel Jim Morrison for Melissa.

literaturepop culturefeaturefact or fiction
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Well done, Mike. I find the silence kinda eerie at times, especially when accompanied by a thick fog.

  • Very well put, all of it. Thoughtful and makes sense. I especially like the video, funny how I have heard the song about a hundred times but never saw this video, thank you.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Lovely Mike! Especially loved the imagery you painted walking in the grey of morning. I love that kind of silence

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.