Geeks logo

The Day I Met Comedian and Ventriloquist Jeff Dunham and Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Jeff Dunham

By Jmjulius15 JayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

On December 31, 2015 I met comedian and ventriloquist, Jeff Dunham, and his puppet, Achmed the Dead Terrorist. The show was in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It was my fourth time seeing Jeff Dunham live on New Year’s Eve. I went to the show with my mom and sister. The show started at 3pm at The PPG Paints Arena. It was Jeff Dunham’s Perfectly Unbalanced tour, I was so excited for the show. It took an hour to get to the venue. It was snowing outside.

When we got to PPG Paints Arena, I bought a t-shirt. The shirt was dark black, with a picture of Jeff Dunham and all his puppets. The two words “Perfectly “Unbalanced” were written big in bright blue and red letters. The show was about to start soon. As my mom, my sister, and I were going to our seats, a security guard stopped us and asked me if I wanted to ask Jeff Dunham. At first I didn’t know what kind of question to ask him, then my mom and sister said you should ask him to take a picture with you. I said I don’t think Jeff Dunham is going to take a picture with me. My mom and sister said it’s worth a shot, you never know what might happen. I knew they were right. I also knew that my chances of meeting Jeff Dunham were slim to none, but I had nothing to lose, so I decided to ask Jeff Dunham a question. The security guard gave me a little blank white card and I wrote down my question. I said, “Dear Jeff Dunham, can I please take a picture with you?” Sincerely, Jules!

My mom, my sister, and I were sitting in the balcony section of the arena. I was sitting in my blue wheelchair. There were a lot of people at the arena. The show was starting, all the lights in the arena went out. A short video highlighting Jeff Dunham’s career started playing. When the video was over Jeff Dunham walked on stage the entire audience erupted with joy. Jeff Dunham had all his puppets Walter, Bubba J, Peanut, and Jose the Jalapeño on a stick. Peanut and Achmed are my two favorite puppets. The whole show was hilarious. My mom, my sister, and I were having a great time.

Jeff Dunham ended his show with his puppet Achmed. Achmed was reading questions from fans. I was waiting for Achmed to read my question. Achmed got to my card and read it out loud to the audience. “Dear Jeff Dunham, can I please take a picture with you?” Sincerely, Jules! Achmed said “No!” The entire audience laughed, even I laughed. Jeff Dunham said “Jules, come on down.” I was speechless I couldn’t believe that Jeff Dunham the world’s greatest ventriloquist wanted to take a picture with me. I didn’t know how to get to the stage. Jeff Dunham said “Jules, are you coming down?” The cat still had my tongue. Suddenly an old man said “He’s in a wheelchair!” Jeff Dunham said “He’s in a wheelchair? I’ll come to him.” Jeff Dunham walked off the stage and started walking up to the balcony section. I thought I was dreaming. The entire audience was cheering. When Jeff Dunham got to the balcony, he said “Jules, how are you?” I said “Good, how are you Jeff?” Jeff Dunham, Achmed, and I took a picture together. After the picture was taken Achmed said “Shit, I think I blinked.” Jeff Dunham posted the picture on all his social media websites with the caption, “My new friend, Jules from the Pittsburgh show! He couldn’t make it to the stage, so we went to him. #YayforWirelessMikes” Jeff Dunham even gave me his Little Jeff puppet that he used on stage. It was the best New Year’s Eve I ever had!

Me and Little Jeff!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Jmjulius15 Jay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.