Geeks logo

Support Your Local Comic Shop

Or, I found solace in the Coliseum of Comics

By Delise FantomePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Support Your Local Comic Shop
Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

There's a little store tucked in between a Subways and a music shop. It's called Coliseum of Comics, and it's my favorite comic book store. That I've only been to two in total is of no consequence. They have a couple of other sites in Florida, and a pretty nice following on social media. I made my first visit there last year, bored with the slim pickings at the bookstore and intrigued at what lay beyond the dominating worlds of Marvel and DC.

Coliseum of Comics is an amazing place with a plethora of collectible figurines, games, and stacks upon stacks of comics both old and new. I spent at least an hour at the store with every visit pre-COVID. My first visit was spent just wanting to see all the different titles there were, because my only major exposure to comic companies were the very familiar names: Marvel, DC, Dark Horse . . . the usual suspects, you know?

I remember being sort of tentative walking in for the first time, wary of looking out of place or being obnoxious in my confused perusal. It was quiet in there, the lights bright since I entered in about an hour and a half before closing. Music played quietly and I returned the calm greeting given to me, so I decided not to spend too long waffling about. I did start with something more familiar, looking through Teen Titans and Harley Quinn, before venturing over to another shelf with titles that were completely unknown to me. Comics from Dynamite, Image Comics, Boom Studios . . . Goodness, my eyes were opened to a whole universe of stories! Then I looked over to the right, and saw two long tables filled with boxes neatly lined up and stuffed with thin paperback issues from indie publishers, some old Marvel and DC comics from the 80's; obviously I was a bit spoiled for choice.

I spent a long while awkwardly shuffling from shelf to shelf, looking at all the different comics. I hovered pensively over Vampirella, charmed by the brash art, but then humbled after a Google search of its expansive story. I didn't want to start something big, with too many branching stories- it's why I shy away from reading Marvel comics and DC pre-rebirth, because I would get too overwhelmed by the "Earths" available for so many characters! Moving on, I stopped by a couple of Transformer comics and recalled a friend who delighted in cosplaying HotRod. I couldn't help but let a squeal slip past when I saw comics for Army of Darkness, and the prominent chin of the hero, Ash. Could I be blamed for flipping through the brightly colored pages of Jem and the Holograms? Or eyeing up the glitzy looking story of Snot Girl? God I can remember how overwhelmed yet giddy I felt looking at all the possibilities resting just inches from my fingertips at every turn!

A couple of times store workers would stop by, ask if they could offer any help. I'm sure they could have, had I known concretely what I wanted, but all I could offer was a meek shrug and a mumble of "Oh, no, just looking but thank you," to them, watching as they wandered past to talk to customers who were clearly long-time patrons, confident and casual as they wielded their in-depth knowledge of serials and titles I'd never heard of before. I didn't buy anything that visit, but I was encouraged to return.

My next trip, on January 2nd, 2020, I was more prepared, and ready to purchase at least one comic. I walked into the store and straight to the DC section, the very first standalone shelf across from the counter. I knelt down and skipped through the alphabetized books before coming to a comic that I had read bits and pieces of off Pinterest- Super Sons! It was the 2017 version with 16 issues, and though I haven't gotten around to buying the second issue I did adore the lighthearted, yet action-packed fun of the first part of the series. The art style was great, the perfect example of "frenemies", and having Damien just be a real focused wierdo of a 13 year-old who continually exasperates Batman is wonderful. After that I got a little bold and kept looking around, prompting an employee to ask if I needed assistance. This time I was more prepared.

"Do . . . Would you happen to know the Harley Quinn series that features her running for Mayor of New York . . . and she's got a Gang of Harley's?" Yeah, I did research the series before, but my dumbass forgot to write down the author and therefore had no clue which of the, I think, five different versions of her comics they offered, were the ones I wanted.

"I think . . . you're talking about the series by Conner and Palmiotti? It came out in 2017." The man adjusted his glasses and leaned forward, tugging out the first issue of Harley Quinn from the Rebirth Universe and handing it to me. I mean- the fact that it took him about, maybe, fifteen seconds, to not only guess the comic from my fractured explanation but also whip out writers and issue release date like he was reciting the Pythagorean theorem? Outstanding.

I beamed and thanked him gratefully, rising up and taking the issue with me as I looked over the summary on the back. I kept walking down the aisle, looking to my left at the shelves filled with new issues the store was showcasing. I saw a few Betty & Veronica issues where they met Vampirella, one comic about scientists who decide to have sex with aliens to raise funds and garner more interest in extraterrestrial science- yeah, I know . . .

At the end of the visit I kept Super Sons but put away Harley Quinn for another day, only taking the one DC comic and a Halloween special issue of Bettie Page.

You bet your ass I went back the next week though. That time I did get Harley Quinn, and the first two issues of Betty & Veronica: Vixens, a comic series featuring the titular Riverdale babes in a motorcycle gang. I took my time picking those stories and casually flipping through issues that had colorful, calm looking covers as I listened to Star Wars: Attack of the Clones play on their TV.

And yes, I went back again, the next week! To the tune of T.V. soundtracks and 2000's rock hits, I finally plucked up the courage to buy an "indie" title in Lady Mechanika, a steampunk adventure featuring a kickass amnesiac cyborg lady looking to find her past and destroy those who made her into what she is. By far my favorite title of all I've bought so far, and I finally bought volume three about a month ago. That was also the last visit I've made since, purchasing the first issue of Bettie Page and the second of Harley Quinn.

I haven't avoided Coliseum of Comics for any particular reason, just fatigue from working amongst the public and not wanting to be out and about on my peaceful days off. I do miss it though, and want to order a few early issues of the Back To The Future comic series, they only have issues four and up at the store. I'd like to go back soon, but cases are rising again in my state and my job status is starting to get rocky, so a trip to the Coliseum might not happen until Spring. I miss going into the little store and being greeted by people who casually chat about new releases and favorite Thor arcs. I miss the movies and music they play in the background as my gaze roves over a myriad of covers featuring all kinds of characters in various frozen forms; some tortured, others nonchalant, or happy, angry, fighting . . . there's so much a good cover can say about a comic book isn't there?

Coliseum of Comics is a really nice, serene place that is never too rowdy no matter what time of day or night I go, and offers a strong atmosphere of no judgement. That last one really clinched my patronage, because as someone who isn't well versed in many comics, it was nice to go in to a place and be offered some great advice for titles, and just watch others feverishly search for new issues with their friends. For now, all I have from the Coliseum is my collection of treasures from each stop: Lady Mechanika, Harley Quinn, several back issues, and my some of my most beloved Funko Pops: T'Challa, and Miles Morales. Someday I'll go back, at least once before I have to leave this place . . . and I'll savor everything about it, boxed in by pages and pages of some of the greatest stories ever told.

comics

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Delise FantomeWritten by Delise Fantome

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.