Geeks logo

Superhero Movies Ain't It

Before you come lashing for my throat, just hear me out…

By mindvomitPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

First of all, I've never really been a fan of the Marvel, DC or whatever the hell else comic book universe’s there are. I mean I get the whole appeal and the popularity, but they're just too overrated. Trust me, I've tried watching and giving it a chance, but it just wasn’t my thing. At least I tried right?

My first introduction to this superhero phenomenon (more like CULT!) was Captain America. I remember specifically going to the kitchen while my family watched in the lounge. In the corner of my eye, I caught a glimpse of something. I stopped midway and turned. No, turned is an understatement. I swerved around so quickly at the sight of Chris Evans fine ass. That man is a different breed of attractive, so my thirsty ass really sat through that whole damn movie for him.

Just to be clear, I'm not completely bashing these films. Superhero movies are the biggest franchise in the world with millions and trillions of fans who will murder me for my opinion. Listen, I appreciate art and all forms that they come in. Art is subjective and there is the freedom to express anything and everything. The process of what goes into making a Marvel film or any film is excruciatingly difficult and I’m not discrediting that. It’s just a matter of personal taste. Now that I'm done pleading and defending my case kindly…. I will NOT hold back.

Superhero films became an issue for me when they began dominating the movie industry and infecting cinemas. I get the appeal, but I don't get the hype generated around them. I draw the line when these films are placed on a golden pedestal like it's some cinematic masterpiece. This is where we have a problem. And yes, art is subjective blah blah, but damn! do you not watch anything else? Where's the flavour? Where's the range? I’m not generalising the fans here, but the impression I get is that SOME of you ONLY watch superhero films. I envision Marvel as this mother cow being sucked and drained relentlessly from all its vanilla milk. The baby cows (the fans) latch on hungrily, unaware of the vast varieties of flavoured milk. There are other films out there you know. There are other flavours of milk!

How many more Marvel movies are we gonna see!?

I'M TIRED!!!

How many more remakes are they gonna vomit out!?

I'M TIRED!!!

“Honestly, the closest I can think of them, as well made as they are, with actors doing the best they can under the circumstances is theme parks.”

Martin Scorsese made this comment among others last year receiving so much backlash. I completely agree with him so bash me too. These films are fun but mediocre. They are nothing in comparison to the brilliant independent films that do not get the much-needed attention they deserve.

"It's a perilous time in film exhibition, and there are fewer independent theatres than ever."

Scorsese also stated, which is sadly and truthfully the case. Nowadays we have the convenience of Netflix or watching online if you’re broke (shoutout 123 movies). Who’s going to the cinema when you can watch from home? Unfortunately, people choose to go only to watch superhero films and that's not okay. Yes, it has become an expensive luxury and I understand that we only wanna invest in something that’s familiar or know will be a guaranteed success. You seriously don’t understand how much you’re robbing yourself from so many underrated gems. I may not be a fan of superhero films but at least I gave it a chance. Please give independent films a chance.

Experience other flavours of milk.

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

mindvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.