Geeks logo

"Somewhere" movie review

A Film Written and Directed by Sofia Coppola

By Daniel GarciaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I have to say, I don't know how to feel about this movie. I love Sofia Coppola, she's hands down my favorite director, but I have to be honest and say that the pacing of this movie was incredibly slow, that's usually how her films are, but they have something to them that keeps you interested. This one at times would get a bit boring. I'm not saying this was a bad film, but it's definitely not one I would watch again. I understood the message of it, it's mainly about a man (Johnny Marco) realizing that fame is not all it's made out to be.

It really shows what the life of a Hollywood star is probably like, parties, sex, drinking, etc. Many moments just felt kinda boring and pointless though, I did really like the bond between Johnny with his daughter (Cleo) though. This movie was just quite honestly one I will remember about too often, and that's rare for me to say that about a Sofia Coppola film, but not every director has a perfect record, and it wasn't per say a terrible movie, just one that felt too slow and didn't really have a climax or anything.

From what I could tell though, Johnny was pretty miserable but spending time with his daughter made him a bit happy, I found that pretty heartwarming. A lot of moments in the film kinda just didn't really make much sense to me, the acting in it was solid for the most part though. I found it a pretty calming movie as well, that's how most of Sofia Coppola's films really are. I don't know if it's a movie that I would exactly recommend to anyone though, I got to be honest, especially if you get bored fast and have very short attention span.

I really don't like saying negative things about Sofia's movies, I love her, and this wasn't a terrible film, it's just not a good example of her world in all honesty, she is an extraordinary writer and director, but if someone saw this film without having watched her other movies, they probably think they're pretty boring, but they absolutely are not, at least in my opinion. I wouldn't want anyone to judge her directing based off this one movie. There is a few people that did like it, I read some reviews on google, and while most people criticized it, there were some people that liked it, and that's great.

It honestly really just wasn't my movie, I don't hate it or dislike it, I just didn't exactly connect with it, minus the ending and the scene where Cleo starts crying in the car with her dad. The movie felt pretty long even though it was roughly around an hour and thirty minutes, it just went so slow, and while a slow movie can be a good thing, I don't think that was exactly the case here, the pointless scenes it had at times just made it even more longer and at times boring.

This is an honest review and my full thoughts on the movie, it's not a great movie, but I don't think it was bad, just not really a movie to remember or to go back to. It's not one of Sofia's brightest movies at all, in fact one of her worse (Again, that doesn't mean it was terrible) but like I said before, not every director has all great movies, most don't actually, that's totally normal and okay. She's still one of the greatest directors and has had many other films that are amazing.

I wouldn't want anyone feel discouraged to watch her other movies due to this one, by all means, go for it! her movies are excellent and I love them. My favorite film of all time (Lost In Translation) was made by her, so there's that. Her movies are for the most part wonderful pieces of Cinema, this is the only one that didn't quite catch the eye too much. But it wasn't a total disaster, it was a movie with a message in it, that after a little while you'd be able to understand, so it had that going for it at least.

entertainmentreview
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Garcia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.