Geeks logo

'Reunion' Webtoon Sequel on Indefinite Hiatus

Future plans for the Webtoon Original announced

By The Webtoon ElementPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Stephattyy completed her first Webtoon, Reunion, in August 2022 while teasing possible plans for a sequel story to take place where the series left off. Fans were excited to see the possibility of more Shiro, Rhea, and the rest of the cast. Unfortunately, this will not be the case on the Webtoon platform.

The Originals creator of Reunion, posted an announcement regarding her future plans as a creator on her Instagram.

"With a heavy heart, this is my official announcement that I have decided to move on from Webtoon for good, and all plans relating to the sequel of Reunion will be on indefinite hiatus."

Stephatty states the main reason for her decision was due to "[her] health and wellbeing taking a nosedive while working on Reunion." A combination of numerous factors played a role in her decision to end her journey with Webtoon. She is not pointing fingers and wants to put her well-being first.

She goes on to say how thankful she is for all her followers who supported her and her work before it even became an Original. She looks forward to continuing to create new content.

"It's not the end of my journey as a creator, it is simply a change in direction and I still have plans to continue creating." - Stephattyy

With the reassurance of better things yet to come, fans can continue to follow and support Stephattyy on Instagram and Patreon for her latest projects and works.

Shiro and Rhea in "Reunion"

Read Stephatty's Announcement Below or on Instagram!

"Hey everyone, it’s been awhile. Sorry for the radio silence. Most of you here have been around for over a year now. You probably discovered me from #PoppyComics and the few silly one-shots of my OCs. Recently however, many of you discovered me from Reunion, and I am incredibly thankful to have had the amount of support and love for the series throughout its brief but memorable run. You guys really blew me away, I never once believed people would be so excited about something I created, and that is a feeling I will always cherish.

As you all know, there is a sequel after Reunion that is supposed to pick up where the series left off. It was my passion project, THE series I’ve talked about and did a ton of planning for way before I was signed. It was a story I was so excited to work on and I genuinely believed it would be a good one.

Unfortunately, my health and wellbeing took a nosedive over the past year while working on Reunion. Being signed by Webtoon was my dream, it was something I was willing to give anything for at one point, so the idea of throwing all that away sounds ridiculous, and yet, I have accepted that it very much is the solution for all the health issues I have been experiencing at a greater intensity as of late. I want to clarify that I am not pointing fingers but acknowledging that sometimes things are simply not a good fit.

It was a very tough pill to swallow, but I accepted that I am not built to keep up with the demands of being a Webtoon Originals creator. Perhaps it is my lack of skill, experience, or existing health issues that make the process so much more difficult than it needs to be, but regardless, I was hyper-aware of how badly I had spiralled over the year and decided to pull the plug and put my health and wellbeing first before things got out of hand, knowing that it came at the expense of a potentially successful webcomic career and, worst of all, letting everyone down.

With a heavy heart, this is my official announcement that I have decided to move on from Webtoon for good, and all plans relating to the sequel of Reunion will be on indefinite hiatus. We will continue to see Shiro, Rhea and the rest of the crew make appearances around here, but there will be no official series relating to Reuinon for a long time. This is the most heartbreaking decision I’ve ever had to make, I love my characters with all my heart, but I also know this is for the best.

I am sorry for not being able to fulfill my end of the promise. Believe me when I say I am truly very, very passionate and excited about what was to come. I apologise for all the messages and comments I never got back to, I know many of you were really eager for the sequel. I struggled to put this announcement into words and tried to talk myself out of this decision for awhile, but ultimately, as you can tell, I stuck by it.

As dejected as I am, I am also equally as excited for what’s next. It’s not the end of my journey as a creator, it is simply a change in direction and I still have plans to continue creating. This time, I will be creating for me, and hopefully you will enjoy what I have to share too.

I will continue to be on Webtoon, but now as a fan and a supporter of other amazing creators on the platform. Thank you all so much for understanding. Please know that all the support you’ve given me will always mean the world to me, I appreciate you guys a ton and I truly hope to see you all again in my next project." - Steph

In recent news, Stephatty teased characters for an upcoming story she plans to work on. The story will not be affiliated with Webtoon or any webcomic platforms for the time being. Stephatty hopes to go the indie route with her next webcomic. No title has been released yet but she has announced the names of the main characters. Meet Jeremiah and Lydia, along with her doggo, Kai!

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed reading my work consider leaving a like, comment, feedback, or tip, and don't forget to subscribe!

Instagram - @thewebtoonelement

Youtube - @thewebtoonelement

Linktree - @thewebtoonelement

entertainmentcomics
1

About the Creator

The Webtoon Element

~ A webtoon blog providing news, recommendations, and personal insight ~

Check out my Linktree for access to my socials and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.