Geeks logo

Regent Theatre's Return to Reason: A Step Back in Time

I stepped back in time while watching 'Return to Reason' at the Regent Theatre.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 days ago 3 min read

‘I would photograph an idea rather than an object, a dream rather than an idea’ - Man Ray

The Regent Theatre celebrated one night only of 100 years of Return to Reason, a collection of four 1920s silent films by Man Ray. The compilation features Le Retour a la Raison (1923), Emak-Bakia (1926), L’Etoile de mer (1928), and Les Mysteres du Chateau de De (1929). Accompanied by a new music restoration, the films explore poetic visual storytelling.

I stepped back in time while watching Return to Reason at the Regent Theatre. It was a surreal and captivating evening. I was mesmerized as I watched these abstract films, awed at the incredible techniques for such a time. I am already a passionate movie lover, but watching these four silent films from the 1920s was an enriching experience.

Restored with emulating music, there’s a lot packed in the layers of these films. It all started in 2023 when Jim Jarmusch and Carter Logan, the founding members of the group Squrl, composed a soundtrack for the film and restored Return to Reason in 4K. The music draws you into it and perfectly blends with the subject.

When I got home, I looked up everything about the director, Man Ray. His use of techniques made his films stand out. Each film is an exhibition of images, specifying a unique vision and artistic prowess. I recommend that you look up Man Ray’s works.

The first film, Le Retour à la Raison (Return to Reason) is only 3 minutes! An abstract film, it tests light and shadows. Man Ray creates a series of striking and surreal images. The film's rhythmic interplay of shapes and patterns is both hypnotic and thought-provoking.

In another surreal journey, Emak-Bakia (Translated in English to Leave Me Alone) is a dreamlike story. The film reflects the desire for freedom and explores the subconscious mind. The film's unconventional camera angles, rapid editing, and unusual visual effects create a disorienting, yet captivating experience.

L'Étoile de Mer (The Starfish) explores love and desire. It features a starfish as the central theme. This was one of my favorites of the evening. In one sequence, a starfish model was crafted. I’m unsure if I blinked because I was so fascinated by how it moved. Despite having limited technical capabilities for such a time, filmmakers invented techniques.

The final film, Les Mystères du Château de Dé (The Mysteries of the Chateau of Dice) is mysterious and rich with several hidden meanings. One can interpret this film in any way. Man Ray documented the use of block shapes. Unlike how films tell a conventional story, actions speak louder in older films.

I will never forget the silence in the theater when the final film concluded. We all took a moment to let the images, vision, and experience soak in until conversations arose. Return to Reason transports us to different realms of imagination. It reminds us how filmmaking has changed and inspired several people.

We cannot forget movies like these. I felt like I stepped back into the 20s era. Silent films are time capsules of experiments of the first moving pictures. Watching this film has inspired me to research and watch more films from the early 20s and 30s. This was where filmmaking began.

This screening at The Regent Theatre was not just a film-watching experience. It was a journey through the history of art and cinema. I felt myself smiling through most of the duration, along with palpitating excitement in the audience. Return to Reason is a compelling cinematic experience. I highly recommend that you watch these silent films.

pop culturereviewmovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marielle SabbagWritten by Marielle Sabbag

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.