Geeks logo

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle haters are missing the point

The Forrest is being overlooked because of all the trees in the way.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Haters are missing the forest because of the trees

Meghan Markle and Prince Harry's docuseries is now complete and had 81 million viewers. The point they were trying to make is being lost in the proverbial "not seeing the forest for the trees." There are many people commenting on various articles who are criticizing the Sussexes but I understand where they are coming from. Harry says William yelled at him which probably made him feel like less than a man. The brothers are only two years apart in age but William has been treated as the heir to the throne all of his life and his younger brother as the "spare.'

I recall being in church one Sunday and my then 2-year-old son walked across the aisle and stood with his godparents then came back to me. One of my cousins who is seven years older was ushering at the back door and when I reached for my son's hand I saw her making faces and pointing. I decided to go to my car so I would not be arguing in church and my cousin left her post at the door and followed me.

She banged on my car window shaking her finger and scolding me for allowing my son to walk during the service. I was a 35-year-old married woman and mother of three but my cousin was shouting at e and scolding e as if I were a child. I am sure Prince Harry felt as belittled as I did to have his brother scream at him. I applaud the Prince for telling hsi truth even though he knows it will cost him.

Meghan's life was in real danger

Some people try to play down the racism but there were reports that Meghan received threats that she would be raped and dismembered.This is frightening and I cannot understand how anyone cannot see that these two were fighting for their very lives and dignity. The response from the royals according to Harry was that they all went through hazing.

They did not seem to understand that racism is a different animal and Meghan said in part one of the docuseries that racism is not rudeness. No one wants to be shouted at and Harry was probably realizing thsi was going to be his future always having to defer to the future King. In the interview, Prince Harry admits he understands that Prince William has to be concerned with his legacy but he probably wishes he could have had a simple conversation with his brother.

Protocol can be overwhelming

I recall a church I once attended where we had to refer to church leaders by title while in the building. It was strange when discussing my son and calling him Minister and referring to people I knew as Elder, Deacon, or Deaconess etc. At least we could let our guard down once we were out of the building but Meghan Markle said the Prince and Princess of Wales were formal in public and private.

Perhaps it comes along with the territory because of their future roles. and certainly, The Sussexes could have remained quiet about it all but they say they have been lied about and desire to set the record straight. The question now on everyone's minds is what the couple is keeping to themselves and not revealing.

What comes next?

Will Prince William take the stance of his grandmother Queen Elizabeth of "Never explain and never complain" or will "the firm" issue some type of statement regarding the future king yelling at his brother? This is really a sad situation and Buckingham Palace will not like the fact that Harry decided to both complain and explain. Will this lead to a permanent riff with the Royals and will they blame Meghan even though Harry has said he wanted out for some time?

As the 'Spare" Prince Harry may have felt that it was not necessary for him to follow royal protocol because there was no point but William obeying is leading him to the throne. Now that the Duke and Duchess have revealed a small portion of their struggle it will probably boost book sales of Prince Harry's memoir because the public will be eager for more.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.