Geeks logo

Power Rangers at 25

Celebrating 25 Years of Morphin Action

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
It's Morphin Time!

It's Morphin' Time! Today is the 25th anniversary of one of my favorite 90s TV shows: Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. It premiered on Fox Kids on August 28, 1993 and ran for three seasons. It's one of the longest-running kids' live-action series in television history. In 2019, Beast Morphers will be the 26th season in the Power Rangers franchise.Almost 900 episodes, three movies, and 25 years later, it's still going strong, thanks to the die-hard fans around the world that are passionate about their fandom. They show that passion by posting Power Rangers related stuff on social media, whether it's cosplay or them at a photo of them at a convention with their favorite stars. With the news earlier this year Hasbro has acquired the rights from Saban Brands to make Power Rangers action figures and other toys starting in April 2019, fans believe that the future is bright.

I was five years old when the show premiered and was hooked. At school, people were talking how good it was and what happened in every episode. After school, I would watch it religiously, meaning I never missed an episode. It was positive and taught us life lessons. As far as the toys I had, I remember having a Red Ranger piggybank, a Red and Black Ranger action figures, and a White Ranger watch. In 2013, I went to my now-closed Toys R Store and bought my first action figure in 20 years. It was Jason, the armored Red Ranger. For the next three years, I purchased more Power Rangers toys. I must have spent well over $300 worth of loot. My biggest purchases to this date are, well, you will have to see it at the end of this article to find out. I usually buy Power Rangers action figures and other items from either Toys R Us or eBay. Besides, you're never too old to play with toys or have a toy collection. Amazon and eBay are great places to find the best Power Rangers action figures and other things.

People often ask me why the Blue Ranger is my favorite Ranger. I have a few reasons why he's my favorite character and how I relate to him. Growing up, I was bullied by my peers and shy. However, I was intelligent and friendly. Back in the fall of 2016, I attended the Arkansas Anime Festival as Civilian Billy. It was my first time that I went as him. A few months later in January 2017, I did my very first Power Rangers solo photoshoot as the same character. It was fun and got to be myself, something that my parents never allowed me to do when I was a kid. A month later, my Blue Ranger suit arrived in the mail and was eager to try it on. On February 21, 2017, my dream finally came true. I suited up as the mighty Blue Ranger. I looked in the mirror and almost broke down in tears. I couldn't believe that I was finally a Power Ranger. Almost a month later, I went to see the movie Power Rangers with a few of my friends, all suited up. It was the best night of my life and had a great time. Being a Power Ranger at conventions and everywhere I go is a great feeling. Random people stop me and ask for pictures. It was so much fun interacting with others who loved my cosplay. My next Power Rangers cosplay will most likely be the Blue Zeo Ranger from Power Rangers Zeo. Not sure when that will happen, but it will be soon.

Over the years, I've been seeing comments online from the haters calling Power Rangers, anything from lame to corny. In return, fans clap back at the naysayers. Power Rangers is a fandom that's for everyone, not just for children. I'm now in my 30s and I'll always love this franchise for the rest of my life. I haven't read the Shattered Grid series yet, but I will at some point. Someday, I hope to meet as many Power Rangers stars as I can. That's on my bucket list and hope to knock that item off soon. Thank you, Power Rangers and Haim Saban for making my childhood Morphinominal. Here's to 25 more years of Morphin fun.

My Biggest Purchases

The Dragonzord and Falconzord!

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.