Geeks logo

Overshadow.

The best thing is right under your nose.

By Xavier WoodsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

While there are plenty of new shows emerging on streaming networks left and right, there are just as many that have yet to be discovered. Growing up with so many different people, and being young and having no control over the television, left me to the mercy of 90’s tv shows on repeat. Most of them didn’t interest me much and eventually led me to other entertainment pursuits but some stuck.

One of those being the show Charmed. Not the new one, not that I have anything against it. It’s an excellent show, with better graphics of course, but there’s just something about the Halliwell Sisters. My aunts had every season, and I had seen EVERY season more than once. Piper, the middle and suddenly eldest sister had this attitude to her that made her feel motherly but also badass. Phoebe, the fun and levelheaded one. Then Paige, the one you got to grow with as a viewer. You got to see her from clumsy witch, to full-blown white lighter/witch. I could explain to you what a white-lighter is, but then you would feel less inclined to watch it. Normally, with TV shows exceeding 4 seasons, the storylines get repetitive and the audience gets bored but, after 8 seasons, I’m left wanting more and that says something. I hope to this day Piper, Phoebe, and Paige have found peace and balance in their lives as the Charmed ones. Until then, I hope YOU get to know them. It’s on Netflix, you kind of don’t have an excuse. Unless, you don’t have Netflix. This is awkward.

Anyways, here comes another old show. This “adventure” comes from an hour in a high school health class and genuine curiosity. One Tree Hill was always one of those shows that seemed dramatic and not-my-type as I aimlessly scrolled through Netflix on days off. When I had seen the episode in health class because of its relevance in the event of an active shooter in school, I had only seen glimpses of the characters lives and I wanted more. I dove into it, half expecting to see one episode and turn it off but then I learned that Nathan Scott was a dick, and Lucas Scott was a saint, and they were brothers. WITH SATAN AS A DAD? I was right, it was drama but now I was sucked in. Aside from that, the show shared a lot of similarities to the place I was at in my life, and I didn’t feel like a weirdo anymore because someone else was going through it. I fell in love with Nathan and Haley, and Lucas and Peyton. Even if you’ve seen it before, watch it again. There’s always something you missed and there’s always another story you hadn’t paid attention to, this time was Mouth and Millie. Again, you have to watch it to find out.

Lastly, definitely not the last for me but I want to keep you reading, is Hollywood. Now this one is NEW new, but I finished it right after it released on Netflix. Now, I’ll tell you who made it after I’ve described and you’ll see why when I say the name. The show gives you a glimpse of Hollywoodland, we all know Hollywood but not the land. Hollywood is saucy and Boujee and sometimes petty. Hollywoodland was the same but in a more cutthroat way. You get to meet historic stars and hear their stories while diving into a new story about new fame and how to handle it. The stories of actors and models sometimes involve very risqué tactics to get seen and you get to see some of that too. Okay, you know American Horror Story? The show that scares the shit out of us and kind of gives you the heebie jeebies but you still watch it? Oh, and that show Glee? That told your entire high school experience in the form of song and was extremely popular? That’s who made Hollywood. The legendary Ryan Murphy.

Now that I have coerced you enough to watch at least one episode, I hope in about two days, you’re stuck in the same position and neck hurting because you have just discovered you next favorite show. If you do like it, let me know. I need another excuse to watch it, and more friends.

@woodsxavier (instagram)

tv
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.