Geeks logo

Obsidian

Chapter 1: Every End is a Beginning

By Amanda Le CroixPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’m lying on the most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever had the displeasure of lying on, but I couldn’t be happier than I am right now. Only being able to see straight up, around me, I can hear sniffling and a muffled cry. I assume Mary is crying into her mother’s apron probably hoping I won’t know that it’s her.

“G-granny…” next to me I can hear the stifled whimpers of my great-grandson, Ryouma, as he calls me that insufferable name once again.

I turn my head, slowly barely able to face him and smile, “What have I said about calling me ‘Granny’?” I manage out those few words with a small chuckle. “Yer just lucky I can’t give ya a good thrashin’ brat.”

At these words Ryouma holds back his whimpers, but I can see the tears streaming down his face. His grandpa, my son, kneeling behind him at my bedside strokes his head trying to reassure the poor child.

That’s right, you’ve guessed it.

My name is Ukiyo Satomi, I am 96 years old today. I'm also on my deathbed. As I lay here, surrounded by my friends and family I am at peace. The life I have lived is nowhere near the life I thought I would live, but the 81 years I have spent here have been the best I could ever ask for, I wouldn’t change a single thing.

I have no regrets. I lived my life to the fullest after somehow being dropped here on my 15th birthday 81 years ago. I didn’t know where I was or what to do, but I found a way to survive. I found a way to live. And now at the end of my days I can say, “I lived a good life, so while you all cry over my passing, I want you all to know that this isn’t the end. The days I spent with each of you are ones I will always remember and treasure, even after I pass. Please, don’t mourn my passing for too long, but celebrate the days we spent together. I love you all so much.”

After saying my last words, I close my foggy eyes. Huh, guess I started to cry too. I really am gonna miss you brats.

***************************

Ah is this what it’s like to die? Floating, darkness, surrounded by warmth.

Wait… I’ve felt this before… This feels like right before I woke up before. Am I going to go back? Back to my students? To my little brat Ryouma and his lazy grandpa?

Or… am on going to another life? Will I endlessly reincarnate like in those stories I always read in my old life? So many possibilities, so many places I could end up outside of this dark, warm place I know so well.

….eep….

…? What was that?

….Beep…..Beep…..

That sounds like...an alarm clock?

Beep… Beep... Beep…

No wait… not quite an alarm, more like a computer game? Wait, am I…

I force my eyes open and immediately am blinded by a bright light. I quickly fling my arms up to cover my eyes. My eyes start to adjust and I can see these younger arms with plastic tubes sticking out of them. The nails are painted a vibrant blue color and look freshly done. One of them is even smeared a bit from something.

Wait… these are… my… arms..?

Letting my eyes adjust I blink many times turning my arms and hands in front of myself.

I can’t believe it.. Where did my wrinkly skin go? And didn’t I just die surrounded by family and friends?

“Wah.. Sa-Satomi” I hear my name being called from next to me and I realize that wherever I am, I’m not alone. Slowly I turn my head in the direction of the familiar voice that called me.

“...Mom?”

“Oh Satomi! Yo-you f-finally woke up!” The woman next to me, who looks exactly like the mother I never thought I would see again those 81 years ago, flings herself at me sobbing into my bed sheets. Before I realize it I am crying too.

“Mom! I never thought I’d see you again!” I bend over covering her in a hug as we both cry.

Somehow, I’m back. Back in my life I thought I left 81 years ago. I never imagined I would see my mother again. She looked the same, a little haggard and worn out, but almost exactly the same as the last day I remember. I almost couldn’t believe that it was her. After we both finished crying for what seemed like forever my mom hugged me one last time and went out of the room to call for a doctor. At least that's what she said.

Once she returned with the doctor and he finished doing an exam, he started to explain what happened to me. His words shocked me, “You have been in a coma for 81 days.”

“...What?”

comics
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Le Croix

Trying my hand at writing out my stories. Someday I hope I can make these into webcomics, but for now they'll live as stories here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.