Geeks logo

Obsidian

Chapter Four: Starting Classes

By Amanda Le CroixPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

After going to the bathroom to straighten out my uniform and hair, Sora walked me to my classroom. We wave good-bye and I turn to face my classroom door. My heart starts to race and I can feel myself getting a little lightheaded.

Huh, guess someone as old as me can still feel nervous.

I take a deep breath in and out, then open the door to the classroom. Inside there are a handful of students around the room. Most of them pay no attention to me as I walk in, however I spot a few familiar faces in the room. One of which is the big dogboy who ruined my vest. He sees me and starts to panic a little in his seat. I look over at him with a little smile on my face, he freaks out even more.

“Satomi!” Suddenly I’m overtaken by an unexpected hug. I nearly get knocked over for the second time today, but this one I wouldn’t have minded as much.

“Geez, Mari why do you always have so much energy in the morning?” Mari Sakura, my best friend since elementary school. She’s always been like a sister to me and I heard from my mother that she visited me often in the hospital and sometimes bring meals for my mother and brother. She’s such a good girl, I’m glad that someone was looking out for my family while I was gone.

“I’m s-so glad you’re b-back!” Mari was always a little bit of a crybaby, she was starting to tear up while hugging me. “I was so worried I’d never s-see you again! Wahhh!”

“Now there, there it’s OK,” I try my best to keep her from full on crying in the classroom. Safe to say our little exchange has garnered the attention of everyone in the room, even dogboy looks worried. “Look, see? I’m all better now so no need for the water works OK, Mari?”

“...OK,” she sniffles back her tears and smiles, “I’m just glad you’re OK.”

“Me too, it’s so good to see you Mari,” I bring her in for another hug, “But Mari, what are you doing here? You’re usually in the top ten for best grades in school, why would you need summer classes?”

“Oh when I heard from your mom that you’d be taking summer classes to make up for being absent, I signed up to assist the teacher with this class! I want to do everything I can to help you catch up so we can be in class together next term.” Mari smiles brightly, not fully aware of how truly warm her words make me feel inside. I can’t help but smile back at her.

“Thanks for always having my back Mari.”

“Of course! What are best friends for?” We laugh.

“Alright students take your seats we’re going to get started!” The teacher enters the classroom to begin class. Mari heads to the front and I sit down in my seat. I’m seated right behind the dogboy next to the window.

“OK to start let’s do some quick introductions… there aren’t many of you so this should go by quickly,” the teacher starts. “My name is Mr. Kuro, I’ll be your teacher for these summer courses. Assisting me this time around we have-”

“Mari Sakura, high school first year class one!” Mari has always had a bright personality, “I look forward to working with you all.”

“Woah, she’s really cute.” I can hear a few of the guys in the room whispering about Mari. This is nothing new, Mari has always been charming and cute, I’ve shooed away plenty of guys over the years.

One by one everyone stood up and did a short introduction.

“Kenta Shigaraki, first year class three…”

So the dogboy’s name is Kenta huh? It really suits his size, I’m not sure about his personality though.

“Next up we have… Oh Miss Ukiyo,” Mr. Kuro looked over at me, “It’s nice to finally meet you, I had heard you were out of the hospital.” The other kids started whispering, apparently everyone had heard about me, but didn’t know what I looked like. The poor dogboy Kenta looked even more panicked and even guilty, like he saw a ghost.

I stood up, and everyone got quiet, “My name is Satomi Ukiyo, first year. I don’t know what class I’m in yet, guess it’ll be figured out after I take my exam at the end of this summer class, right teach?”

“That’s correct.”

I sat back down and our teacher started the class. While he started, I stared out the window beside me, but I could feel someone watching me. I turned my head forward and met eyes with the panicked Kenta who seemed to want to say something.

“If you have something to say then spit it out, I’m not that upset about earlier anymore so you can stop freaking out.” He seemed to relax a little at my words.

“I-I’m sorry again about that. I’ll get your vest to you soon.” He quickly turned back around and started taking notes.

Look at that, for a scary looking dogboy he sure acts like a cute little puppy. I catch Mari’s eye and we both smile. This summer’s gonna be a lot of fun.

comics
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Le Croix

Trying my hand at writing out my stories. Someday I hope I can make these into webcomics, but for now they'll live as stories here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.