Geeks logo

Obsidian

Chapter Three: Sticky Bun Versus School Vest

By Amanda Le CroixPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

“Satomi! Wake up or you’re gonna be late for school!”

“Ugh, five more minutes,” I grunt at my mom as I roll over and try to go back to sleep.

“You’ve slept long enough,” she signs. “Come on sweetie I made your favorite for breakfast, sunny side up eggs with fried ham~”

It’s true, I can smell it from my room. The aroma of freshly pan fried, honey sweet ham is calling for me. And my mom being the one who made it makes the offer ever more so enticing.

*Grrrrumble*

“Ah-hah I knew you were awake! Come on sleepy head, you can have an extra helping today since it’s your first day back to school.”

I begrudgingly, get up from my cozy bed and make my way down the hall to the kitchen. Sora is already sitting at the table, but oddly he hasn’t touched the plate of food in front of him.

“Aw were you waiting for Big Sis to eat breakfast with you?” I ruffle his hair while teasing him.

“Gah! Why do you have to be so stupid! I wasn’t waiting for you I was just-”

“Yeah yeah OK I get it big man, better eat up so you can grow up strong right?” Sora blushes at my words looking away.

“...dummy…” I hear him mumble under his breath as he starts eating. For a brat I guess he can be cute sometimes.

I sit down across from Sora and mother sits next to him. Looking at the two of them eating breakfast across from me I can’t help but remember the last meal I had with my other family all those years ago. Oddly enough, it was breakfast too.

***************************

After eating and changing into my school uniform I head out with Sora. We live closer to the outside of the city, so we usually have to bike to our schools. Biking with Sora had always been a pain in the past, he wouldn’t look where he was going, almost running into everything and to top it off he never seemed to know the meaning of slow down.

“...huh,” Looking at Sora today, however, he seems like a different kid. Staying close to me, watching out for others. I haven’t had to tell him once yet to slow down.

“What?” Sora noticed me watching him. “Do I got somethin’ on my face? What is it?”

“Oh nothing, I was just thinking what a cute little brother you’re being today Sora~” I smile widely at him.

“Wha-! What’s that supposed to mean?!” He turns away embarrassed. I can see his ears turning a little red at the tips from behind him. I really have missed him, I guess he missed me too.

“Don’t get too cute or people might think you’ve actually changed from being a loudmouth little brat.”

“Hey! I’m not loud!”

I bust out laughing at him as I peddle a little ways past him, egging him on for a little race before school starts.

Sora and I are on our way to summer classes. Since I was in a coma for the first term of the new year, I have to attend summer make-ups and pass an exam at the end in order to continue in the second term with the rest of my class. Sora is attending his own summer classes because his grades weren’t that great in his first term. I can’t be upset with him though, he took on odd jobs all over the neighborhood to help mother out while I was in the hospital. He even came and visited me everyday.

What kind of big sister would I be if I got angry over something like some bad grades?

***************************

We got to school a little early to get our books and get settled in class.

“You know Sora,” I turned to look over at him, “you don’t have to walk me all the way to my classroom, I know where it is.” Sora apparently has made it his mission to watch over me.

“Don’t care.”

This little punk tryin to act all cool.

I shake my head sighing at how silly he’s being, “Guess I can’t help the fact I have such a sweet, caring little brother can I?” Sora turns away apparently not caring what I say about him, but I can still see the tips of his ears turning red.

We’re about to turn the corner into the hallway that leads to my classroom for my summer classes when...

WHAM!

I go tumbling backwards landing on my butt, dropping my new textbooks everywhere.

“Sis!” Sora cries out and is instantly at my side panicking.

“Ouch…” What in the world did I run into? A brick wall?

Standing above me, is a rather tall boy with a shocked look on his face. Despite his rough appearance he looks like he could lose it any second.

Why does he look like the world just ended? Is he that worried about bumping into me?

“...um sis? What’s that?” Sora is pointing at my chest and I look down. Stuck to my new uniform vest, is a honey flavored sticky bun. It’s smashed and smeared onto the vest I spent all last night cleaning and prepping for today. I thought, even though it’s only summer make up classes, let’s make a good impression!

“...And how do you plan to pay me back I wonder?” The boy and Sora jump at the harshness of my tone. “I spent...so much time last night...making my uniform look the best it could for my first day back...and you RUIN it by getting your BREAKFAST on it…?”

“I-I’m s-sor-” He started to stammer out.

“‘Sorry’ isn’t going to cut it!” At this point my temper has been unleashed. “Sit!”

At this command the boy is kneeling in front of me looking terrified.

“Now I expect a written apology and my washed vest to be returned to me no later than tomorrow before classes start!”

“Yes ma’am!” He belts out sheepishly.

“Uh sis I think he gets it, why don’t you give him the vest and let him go for now?” Sora fearfully tried calming me down in an attempt to save this boy from his fate. “It’ll be fine I’m sure he’s going to make sure it’s nice and clean for tomorrow, right man?”

He looked like a big dog that was being scolded by its owner for chewing their shoes while he vigorously shook his head.

“See sis?” Sora continued, “We’re all good now, you can still make a good impression with what you have on.” I take off my vest and kneel down to put it in front of this big dog of a boy.

“Listen, if I so much as smell the stickiness on this tomorrow, you’ll be sorry. Got it?”

“Y-ye-s...”

comics
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Le Croix

Trying my hand at writing out my stories. Someday I hope I can make these into webcomics, but for now they'll live as stories here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.