Geeks logo

'Night School' Review

A typical Kevin Hart movie. It'll do well in the box office.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Night School is a comedy about a guy with a learning disability that attempts to get his high school diploma. The commercials for the movie were funny in the same way that Kevin Hart usually gets us. He plays off his facial expressions and his down and out situations very well in the trailers. I was expecting pretty much something similar to what he has been delivering to us for the past few years. Needless to say, my expectations weren't through the roof. I knew what I was getting myself into and I was willing to watch it.

As I predicted, this movie definitely delivered more of the same schtick that we’re accustomed from Kevin Hart and I’m not mad at that. Kevin Hart has been entertaining us for years with the same formula why not add another movie to the mix? I actually like this formula but I'm a pretty basic person that likes this sort of simple humor. I'm positive that there are a lot of other people out there just like me.

It has a nice, funny cast. There are pretty much two main characters in the movie. The main characters are Kevin Hart and his teacher, Tiffany Haddish. Tiffany Haddish is funny in this movie and I'm glad she had more than one dimension to her character. I think they could have given her more to do in this movie but I understand why they made her the way she was. I really did like the rest of the cast as well. It's a shame that they didn't utilize these other characters very well because there was so much potential with them in the movie. I wanted some of the characters to be utilized a little better. It seemed some of the characters were there to pull off a joke or two or maybe get the plot going. Yes, the movie is a bit messy. There are parts of the movie that don’t really flow very well. Some of the jokes you can see a mile away but I still laughed at them.

It’s a nice popcorn comedy film so don’t think too much when you’re watching it and you’ll be able to enjoy it. There are certain plot problems that don’t make sense and there are certain situations that they obviously placed in the movie just to keep it going. A lot of the movie plays on a lot of stereotypical tropes that we're all aware of. I don't know if it's a good thing or a bad thing that it's general pop knowledge to know these stereotypes. Despite the paint by numbers story, there are one or two things that throw us for a curve ball. Those curve balls don't really throw you off that much, though. They're more like twists that throw you slightly off of the formula that this movie follows. For the most part it is very predictable.

I still enjoyed it though. It’s not something that I would watch over and over again so I won’t give it a crazy high score. It’s more of a middle of the pack movie. Of all of the Kevin Hart movies out there, I would place this in the middle of the pack as well. I think I’m going to give this a 6 out of 10. I know that sounds low, but it’s enjoyable enough that you won’t fall asleep watching. It’s something that you’d be able to watch on TV if nothing else is on.

Should you go to the movies to watch this? I would say heck no unless you’ve got nothing else to watch and really want to watch a movie at the movie theatre. It is a rental at best, but if I were you I’d rather wait maybe two years. I guarantee that this movie will become one of those movies they air on TV on heavy rotation.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.