Geeks logo

Netflix's colorful cowboys take a last ride.

The star-studded cast of Netflix’s The Harder They Fall brings long forgotten black cowboys to life, then kills them again with gusto!

By Lorenzo JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pass to the left. "no spoilers"

We walk into a setting that has a lack for detail that immediately pulls you from the scene , it's introduced as a western it starts like it might be a western but alas, as it begins you start to notice these details that take you out of the movie and onto a set, here I'll do my best to list off the things that I thought either ruined the movie or could have been made better.

Language : If yawl done heard some western speaking for' I think yawl know something bout it an dis right here ain't it. Clean and clear words spoken by people with absolute perfect pronunciation accept for a couple characters which I though were able to hold there tongue sideways and accomplish the goal of sounding presentable for this time setting.

As far as acting goes it was a sure hit and miss, well mostly miss, as the performance of Danielle Deadwyler , was riveting and spectacular, I thought in my opinion that the other actors and actresses were not giving it there all , sure you can seem happy at times, but these were not happy times, Idris Elba could have put on 3 or 4 more shades of intimidating and 2 more shades of smart while taking down the smart level on others around him and showing either sly and shady on the side of Regina King, or a total harlot that just might shoot you in the form of Zazie Beets, Delroy Lindo, I would say he did a great job at keeping a straight face and language but I'm sure he used to watch westers as a kid, for the part that was given as a man who's family was slaughtered and face marked for the rest of his life with a tale of vengeance, Jonathan Majors was too happy, it would have made the story all that much better if he'd kept a straight face, even while showing love, and only smiled at the end when the last of his offenders met there doom, for the part given to him of the fast talking, "and shooting" joking and being good while also putting other people life's at risk the role of Edi Gathegi was well played if not somewhat over stated.

Why didn't you use the dirt? Like how come you made the set so clean and unrealistic, none of the paint was wore off or chipped, no one's clothing was worn at all no rips no places where it was mended with patches, un crushed hats, boots and shoes with clean toes and have not went into stirrups thousands of times, and clean people, with no dust on them, white shirts with no stains, I mean really? I can understand stagecoach Mary being clean a majority of the time but I can not excuse the frequency of bathing of the other characters it just kind of pulls you out of the reality they are trying to get you to be in.

Overall the story was good, I just wish they had some one on set working for the look of being authentic, and some one working with the cast on lines making each of the line sound like they have been delivered by someone in the past from the west, so I'd give this movie 3 out of 12 stars, that's about how good the actors did not overall, overall I'd say 2 out 10 stars , one thumb up, really I'm just making sure that if you watch the movie you'll still be able to enjoy but also give my opinion on the movie.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Lorenzo Johnson

Hello Readers, I'm here to write stories that make the mind grasp concepts that are beyond reality and take dives into the deepest feelings each person knows they have inside but can't get to, I digress, read my stories and give me comments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.