Geeks logo

My Top 5 Favorite Netflix Shows That Will Take You Back in Time

Tv Shows & Historical Fiction

By Victoria CookPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
My Top 5 Favorite Netflix Shows That Will Take You Back in Time
Photo by Mollie Sivaram on Unsplash

In a time when many find themselves with nothing but time, I find myself watching a lot of television. I consider myself to be quite the connoisseur with regards to the variety of TV that I watch, ranging in genres such as true crime, fantasy, romance, comedy, and much more. In order to keep things fresh and properly enjoy each individual show, I have developed a system of watching different genres on a rotation. This enables me to come into the plot with a fresh perspective that isn't bias based on the previous show I finished. A great example of this is how just the other week my mother and I binge-watched the newest season of "Wentworth" a tv show based on a woman's prison, only to switch over to a new one of our new favorites "Schitt's Creek" which is a comedy of a once rich family who lost everything and is now living in a small rural town in the middle of nowhere. To summarise you can trust me as a reliable source that the next 5 shows I will be listing off are some of the best historical fiction you can find on Netflix.

#5 Cursed

I'm sure you've heard of King Arthur and The Knights of The Round Table, but how about the origin story of King Arthurs once love Nimue. Played by Katherine Langford a young sorceress embarks on adventure after her clan of fae folk were massacred by the church. Now the lives of the fae people are in her hands, but what and who will be standing in her way?

When I first started this series I wasn't so sure how I felt about it. It felt like it was trying too hard to bring back a theme that has been potentially played out, but I couldn't have been more wrong! It was the premise of a fantasy about fae people that caught my attention, and the character development that stole my heart. For those looking for a series that mixes Arthurian history with romance and a villain that is just as vile and he is villainous I guarantee you will enjoy this new series.

#4 Vikings

Its the beginning of the Viking age and Ragnar Rothbrok is ahead of his time. A dreamer he wishes to expand beyond the lands known to the Vikings and venture further than anyone before him. Along his quest to raid England Ragnar makes just as many friends as he does enemy's but will his endgame be Earl as he hopes?

"Vikings" is an amazing Tv series that has been around since 2013, and will conclude this year in 2021. That's right my fellow Tv binge-watchers, that means you have a new series to watch with 8 full seasons! Hold on though before you get too excited Netflix unfortunaly only has the rights currently to the first 2 seasons... but hey there still time and plenty of other streaming services that you can use to continue watching after you've dipped your toes in this beauty. Love, war, Norse gods and strong characters this series will keep you on your toes until the very last episode.

#3 The Alienist

1896 New York City a brutal murder involving a young boy has just occurred, but this murder is unlike anything the local police have seen before. A murder so brutal and salacious can only be solved by one equally formidable alienist and his two companions.

With a star-studded cast including Dakota Fanning and Luke Evans "The Alienist" is not a show for the faint of heart. Its twisted script will keep its viewers on their toes as they watch the characters work at solving this mystery whilst unraveling the mysteries of their own lives. Equally gory as it is elegant, this series is perfect for lovers of Hanable or anything CSI related!

#2 Bridgerton

Its Regency-era England and the season for new love has just begun, this year's diamond is the beautiful Daphne Brigerton. Her only goal is to find love but that may not be as simple as it seems. With scandal around every corner and a community lavished in gossip will Daphne manage to find herself a husband worthy of this season's Diamond?

I'm not going to lie, when I first saw the trailer for this series I thought it seemed to lavish and pomp for my taste but thought to myself "why not watch 1 episode and see what the fuss is about". One whole day of my life gone and a full season of "Bridgeton" later and I am so hungover of this show I'm not even sure what genre to venture down next in order to get this beauty out of my mind. It is just as pomp and lavish as I thought it would be but it also goes much deeper. The characters have amazing backstories that tangle you into the lives like a web. I honestly couldn't stop watching, having to know how it would end before I could go to bed that night. A must watch and probably one of my newest favorite Netflix series.

#1 Outlander

Claire just finished serving as a nurse in the second world war. Now she and her husband are looking to rekindle their love in the beautiful Scottland. Life however has different plans for Claire, after falling 300 years in the past Claire is now a time traveler and lost. Her only goal is to survive and get back home to her beloved husband, easier said than done. Especially when a lavishly handsome Scott unintentionally sweeps her off her feet.

If you haven't seen "Outlander" yet, then this of all the shows previously listed is where to start. Not only is this show number 1 on this list but I can honestly say it is currently my favorite show of all time. It is the perfect balance of era, romance, action, and history. The characters you will love and hate with furious passion, everything good or bad that happens to them you will feel like you are right there with them experiencing every heartbreaking moment by their sides. Based on the best-selling books by Diana Gabaldon "Outlander" deserves all the recognition it gets!

By JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

So grab that popcorn and remote and venture back into some brilliantly done historically based fiction. I personally promise you that at least one of these series will leave a permanent dent in your mental inventory. Just sit back relax and enjoy the binge!

tv
1

About the Creator

Victoria Cook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.