Geeks logo

My Review of "Twins"

A classic comedy that combines a buddy flick with fish out of water story.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've seen the movie Twins so many times in the past but it just recently came up on Netflix again. I knew I had to watch it again. This 1988 classic movie came up when I was a little kid so I have watched it in three different times in my life.

Watching it as a little kid I laughed at the absurdity of the dynamics between Arnold Schwarzenegger and Danny DeVito as twins. When I watched it later on in my life I still found the movie funny but I understood more of the adult jokes that they were telling in the movie. Now at an even older age I notice even more nuances in the movie and yet it's still as entertaining as ever before.

For those that have never seen this movie before, it starts off with Julius, played by Arnold Schwarzenegger. He's raised on this tropical place to become basically the best he can be physically and mentally. It just so happens he finds out that he has a twin brother. Obviously he's very curious about his twin brother so he sets off on an adventure to find him.

Little does he know, his brother Vincent, played by Danny DeVito, is the polar opposite to Julius. Instead of a tropical island to learn to be his very best, Vincent was put into an orphanage and raised to fend for himself. He doesn't follow rules and only does things in his own self interest.

Using some sort of twin psychic abilities Julius is able to find Vincent. The whole movie quickly becomes a wild chase because Vincent is a wanted man due to his underhanded affairs.

They played Julius' fish out of water story pretty well. He really looks and feels as though he doesn't belong and is really trying to learn about his new surroundings. I think this was a really smart idea and Arnold really plays Julius well in this regard.

Danny DeVito plays a really good sleazy person. I think they kind of typecast him to be a sleazeball in every one of his acting gigs though. It's fun to see how he grows a heart and changes to become a better person.

The dynamics between the two actors is great and it really works well in this movie. They later did another movie together called Junior but I won't get into it about that movie.

There's a certain charm to this movie that I just can't grasp. The innocence of this movie puts a smile on my face every time I watch it. I think a lot of people will agree that this movie is just basically a fun movie. The plot isn't over-complicated and easy to follow along even though there's multiple people coming after Vincent.

I sort of miss movies like this. They're basically nice simple movies that explore the characters and their development rather than a complicated story-line or special effects etc. There's not a lot of brain power required o watch this movie and that's good. It's really a movie for you to unwind and relax with a bowl of popcorn.

I'm actually surprised that this movie stood the test of time. I was able to enjoy it today just as well as I did back in the day. There were no big complications due to political correctness because while watching this movie you knew that was what it was like back in those times. It's funny because back in those times isn't even that long ago. That goes to show how much things can change in such little time.

Overall, I still love this movie and I don't think it's a nostalgia thing. It's a really fun movie to watch through over and over again. It really is a classic comedy. I have to give this movie an 8 out of 10. This movie is a movie I'll continue to watch over again and I will be suggesting it to people that haven't seen it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.