Geeks logo

My Review of "Tiger King"

It's got a little bit of everything...Literally.

By Izzy BGPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

If you are reading this article and you haven't seen Tiger King yet, here's a heads up because I'm about to drop some spoilers!

I'm not the biggest fan about zoos or seeing animals not being in their natural habitat so naturally, I wasn't drawn into this series. I was recommended this series by my dad, who will watch almost everything so I decided to give it a go.

I'm not one to jump on the bandwagon when it comes to new Netflix movies or TV shows but when I heard about Tiger King and all of it's hype and that Tiger King has more elements and stories than meets the eye, I decided to check it out for myself.

This series is about privately owned zoos, particularly zoos that own big cats and who operate them, how they work and how they differ from one another. In the beginning of the series, we're introduced to eccentric zoo owners like Joe Exotic, which he is. He is one of the main characters documented in this series. He has a wild "I don't give a damn" personality. He's quite the talker, eccentric dresser and musician with multiple husbands. Need I say more? This guy is walking entertainment! At the beginning of the series, you can tell this guy really does care for his animals a lot.. You can also tell that he cares a lot about himself and his image quite a bit. As the series goes on, you'll notice how his values change over time.

Another character we're introduced to in this series is Carole Baskin, who is another private big cat zoo owner. In the beginning of the series, she appears to be a sweet, older woman who has a crazy cat obsession. As the series goes on, we unravel her life story of how she allegedly earned her millions. We also discover her beef with Joe Exotic, which takes place throughout almost the entire series. This beef involves lawsuits, diss tracks, threats and so much more.

We're also introduced to a couple of other private zoo owners, as well as some of the staff and volunteers at the zoos that talk about their experiences working there. Some of the owners were in prison, accused of having a cult, you name it. It's interesting to see how the staff are treated at each specific zoo as they are all so different. At Carole Baskin's zoo, she has very little, if not no employees, just volunteers under a volunteer program: for them to work up becoming a senior volunteer that handles the most responsibilities. In Joe Exotic's zoo, some employees share how much they earn (which was not very much), their living conditions and even the quality of food they receive. There's so much drama that comes with this series, I don't want to give it all away.

Overall, I'd say this series won me over. I found myself binge watching the entire season...three times. Each episode leaves you wanting more because there are so many different things that happen in each episode all at once. Throughout this series, we get to see how each person plays a vital part within everyone's story, how everyone puts up a different persona and how intense and competitive the private zoo world is. There's a fair share of bad language as well as suggestive and quite shocking scenes so if that's not your thing, I'd say you can skip this series. If you're one of those people that is interested in watching anything or if you simply have too much time on your hands and are looking to watch something on Netflix, I highly recommend this series!

entertainment
2

About the Creator

Izzy BG

Just some amateur reviews, experiences and opinions.

My art and YouTube can be found at:

https://www.artbyizzybg.com/

https://society6.com/missizz613

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCi7pIsQonVFrGIbQ_BJO8yg?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.