Geeks logo

My Review of "The Flash: Season 7"

This series is starting to show its age with the repetitive storylines.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

The Flash: Season 7 is the season where everything feels like it's starting to get regurgitated again. I was starting to lose some interest in season 6 and season 7 I sort of really checked out.

The whole mirror-verse and different dimensions is a novel idea to put a little facelift to the series but at times it got a little tired. I know a lot of people enjoy TV shows that talk about different dimensions and alternate timelines but I am not. It feels like a cop out for certain things like bringing older characters back into the fray.

It was why I stopped a lot of shows back in the day like Fringe. I loved that show until they started talking about alternate timelines. Now it's becoming even more common since the Marvel Cinematic Universe started introducing this idea back into pop culture. We're seeing it a lot in movies now.

There is a way to do it tastefully but don't make the show rely on it all the time to get out of things. This show had a few instances where they've been saved by alternate timelines and universes. It's starting to become a common thing in this show now.

I have to give it credit with the fact that they are starting to switch up their characters but these new characters feel like they're playing the exact roles of the characters that they are replacing.

Yes there are a few long standing cast members that are moving on from the show. They may show up from time to time because of the alternate universe and dimensions so you can't really count them out. There's some ceremonial celebration episodes for these characters but it is really starting to feel like this show is on its last legs.

They're trying to one up themselves with somebody that seems more powerful than the last but really it feels like retreading of the same storylines. Barry is always going to try to fix things by himself no matter how many times he's learned in the past that it should be a team effort. I can't count how many times this guy says he does something so that he can make sure a loved one is safe.

He has done this for 7 seasons now. How does he not know that his loved ones are going to try to help no matter what or have huge hissy fits about it. They always have hissy fits too. They pout and stomp their feet yelling its not fair. It happens in almost every introduction of a new big villain.

I recognize what they're doing when they introduce the offspring of Barry and Iris. How do they immediately go into talking to them like they're little kids when they look like the same age as them? I don't know about you but I'd probably talk to them as my equals rather than talking to them as your kids. It's really off but you know what how would I know because that stuff never happens in real life.

Yes, I know it's a fantasy comic book TV show. I shouldn't be taking these episodes so seriously. You're right, I shouldn't however there's this weird perversion with the way that they created these characters. Look at the speed force for example, it looks like Barry's mother but has the name of his daughter? There's a lot of weird incestruous thing about this show.

Overall, I didn't really like this season. It was retreading familiar conflicts while trying to make itself more confusing than it already was. I wish I could get into it but I couldn't. The good thing is that it feels like one of the last seasons on the show because everyone is leaving. That's why I have to give this season a 6 out of 10. I'm really hoping that season 8 will be its last and they end off with a bang.

review

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BAWritten by Brian Anonymous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.