Geeks logo

My Review of "Star Trek: Picard (Season 2)"

The ragtag of misfits are back for a second adventure.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Star Trek: Picard (Season 2) has just recently wrapped up and boy was it an epic season. You might want to watch the first season of Star Trek: Picard (Season 1) before watching this season although it's not necessary. I don't even know the whole Star Trek: The Next Generation and I enjoyed both season 1 and 2. That's goes to show how entertaining these seasons were.

The season starts off with the ragtag crew all together but there's some sort of disturbance. They had to start it somewhere. This disturbance doesn't make any sense to anyone.

Through a series of events Picard is transported to an alternate universe. I know, nobody is safe from alternate universes anymore. It's the new big thing that I'm sure we're going to get tired of. In this alternate universe we see that Picard is a totally different man. Everyone and everything has changed. We don't know why and we don't know how.

Of course the cause will rear its ugly head into the story somehow. Through another series of events Picard and his plucky gang of ragamuffins have an opportunity to change history and bring it back to the future that they remember. So I guess this movie gives us the double whammy with alternate universes and time travel.

In their task to save the future there are a lot of side stories that involve each member of the group. It's nice that they were able to take a bit of time for each character to develop in this way. What makes it even better is that each one of these stories has a great impact on the group dynamics.

One of the interesting storylines is Picard's backstory. I guess they never really dived into his history until now. In this season they not only look at his life as a child but they also look back at his ancestry. It's only suiting since the show is supposed to be based on him.

Still the side stories of the crew members feel just as valuable to the show. We start to wonder which direction each of the characters are going to go. This is partly why watching season one will help you understand the significance of their decisions. I'm not sure if the impact will be as meaningful without watching that first season.

Surprisingly the effects and art direction are really top notch with this show. I didn't expect the effects to work so well especially for a TV show. It's a new age where TV shows can have movie quality effects. These shows are starting to be episodic short movies.

As a person that hasn't really been into Star Trek I know I lose a lot without the knowledge of Star Trek: The Next Generation. They make a lot of references to this series that had me at a loss. Luckily my brother was around to fill me in on the details. Unfortunately not everyone will be able to watch this show with a Star Trek aficionado. To that I have to knock this show down a notch.

The show still explains certain characters and things going on but I had that feeling constantly that I wasn't in on some sort of inside joke that was going on. Yes you can still understand the show but it won't impact you as much as it will impact fans of the old series.

Overall, I still had a great time with this one but it was made more fun because I had a Star Trek person to tell me the significance of certain things. Not everyone will have that but then there's the internet and who wants to have to stop the show to do research on things while they're watching. That's why I have to give this season a 7 out of 10. I loved the direction they went with in this season and can't wait for the next.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.