Geeks logo

My Review of "Resident Evil 2 (2019)"

I was expecting a remake but what I got was an absolute overhaul with some familiar scenes!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Resident Evil 2 (2019) is the remake I was kind of dreading when they first announced it. I thought they would be totally rehashing the game with new graphics. That wasn't the case with this game. Soon I would realize I was playing the game all over again in a new perspective. It's not just a remake this is an absolute overhaul. I recognize a lot of it but it's not quite the same.

Initially when I first started the game I noticed that it's already different with the opening and the sequence of events. The original game had you in an accident trying to get to the police station. You're still doing that but the trek to the police station isn't nearly as long as the original. You're pretty much in the police station within 5 minutes of the game.

It also helps that the controls were overhauled from the original game. I remember you used to control the characters like a tank. Up went forwards no matter what direction you're looking at back in the day. It's such a sigh of relief to be able to go the direction that your controller dictates. We also don't have those static images anymore. It's a fully 3d game now.

In some ways this game still retains the old school look and feel of those static background images while being much more accessible. It also means you don't get stuck into weird corners anymore. That used to be a huge annoyance of mine especially if you're dodging zombies.

One of the best features is the fact that they have double sided doors. You just push through them to get to another room. All us old school Resident Evil players will remember the load times that the game required whenever you opened a new door. This makes the game one thousand times better.

The game mechanics aren't totally different from the original but the controls are a lot more intuitive and easier to use. There of course is some getting used to but it doesn't take you that long to get it. I know I will still constantly go into my inventory instead of pressing the map button. Some habits are hard to die. I like the way that they allow you to switch weapons a lot easier as well.

Also all the old items look like the old items of the past but visually updated. The visuals are so much better in general though. I can only see myself going back to playing the original game if I feel nostalgic but this game pretty much buries the old one.

Seeing as I've played the old one I thought I would already know all of the puzzles for the game. Little did I know, they'd change up all of the puzzles. Not a lot of the old puzzles still remained. It only makes sense too though. The pushing items to open up a key is kind of weird in today's generation of games.

What I didn't actually like that a lot of people liked about the game is the Tyrant character that stalks you throughout the last half of the game. It is annoying and I know he was in the first game but he is really annoying. I get it though. He's there to make you frantic while constantly conserving your ammo.

As an older gamer I really have no patience for this type of buggery in video games. Capcom really has to understand that some players of these type of games just like to play around with the puzzles and not necessarily the action and the conservation of ammo part of the game. Wait they did realize that.

As a cheat Capcom opted to charge players a small sum if they wanted to gain all of the unlockable items right from the start of the game. You see there's a few nice things you can get for finishing the game, namely weapons with unlimited weapons.

I am too old to deal with dying in games so I bought the cheat package. When you realize you're too old to care what others think you can make your life a lot easier in so many ways. I'm also happy to report that buying this cheat makes this game immensely more fun. You'll feel like a badass throughout the game because no one can step to your giant rocket launcher with unlimited ammo. Everything became a breeze and I'm not ashamed to admit it.

You just have to know what kind of gamer you are in order to purchase such a thing. I know for a fact if I get stuck in a game or if something frustrates me, I'm going to stop playing it. With this cheat I knew I was going to finish the game. You get the full value of the game if you finish it.

For those looking for extra challenge there are extra game modes. Here you'll be playing through a survival mode of the game. They give you a limited amount of items and you have to run through the game and avoid as many zombies as you can. I can see the appeal to this but it's not totally for me.

Overall, I'm really impressed with what they did with this game. I had a blast and had a bit of nostalgia while I was playing. There are a few things here and there that you can collect and in some ways this game can be a collect-a-thon. It still has a lot of replay value with speed runs and survival modes. I have to give this game a 9 out of 10. I know I will go back to this game but I have to see what they did with the new Resident Evil 3 next.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.