Geeks logo

My Review of "Megan Thee Stallion: Traumazine"

Wow this is not safe for kids to listen to but I couldn't stop listening...

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Megan Thee Stallion: Traumazine has just come out in 2022. It is my time listening through a full album from Megan Thee Stallion and I'm floored. This album might be really raunchy but it is entertaining as heck. The subject matter doesn't really delineate a lot and it isn't incredibly deep but it is a lot of fun.

Some would probably be quick to compare Megan Thee Stallion with Lizzo. They are entirely different although they have similar types of character personalities. Both of these artists are incredibly confident with themselves and pride themselves on their beauty. I think that's about it as Lizzo goes for a more fun and go lucky direction whereas Megan goes in a more serious route.

Megan is a lot more raunchy as well. There are a great number of songs about her being amazing at devouring the sexual appendages of males. She prides herself at being very physical in the bedroom. It's also mentioned that some people may be jealous of her abilities as well as her beauty.

Being of such a high caliber female she believes that she's should be of the attention of hetero male individuals. As such, she also believes that they need to fit a certain criteria in order to attract her attention.

It's pretty fun because you normally hear this type of rapping though a male perspective and when you hear it from a female in her perspective it's quite shocking. I guess it just goes to show that there aren't enough female representation in the hip hop community.

I love her play on words as they're quite clever and have a ton of pop culture references. There seems to be quite a lot of feuds that she eludes to but doesn't give them too much play on her album. They're just mentioned a hand full of times except for this anger toward someone named Lotto.

Good old rivalry can't be a bad thing. In some ways this Lotto character should be pretty happy that she mentioned her in her songs. It'll probably bring up sales of both their albums.

Most of the samples that are used throughout the album seem quite varied. We have more darker sounding songs along with some softer lighter songs but they never get syrupy at all. Each of the beats are quite simple and don't overcomplicate anything. The attention is always pointed towards Megan's flow and play on how she uses her words. There is an awful lot of oohs and aahs from Megan in the background while she's rapping. I think this is kind of a signature sound from her.

There are also a number of songs that I think people will probably use for various forms of media. I can see them being played at different types of clubs, movie trailers and even in movies. Despite the fact that she doesn't really rap about too much the sound is shockingly diverse for different scenarios.

It doesn't make sense to me either but that's what they do with rap songs in general. I do wish she had something more to say though. She even mentions it in one of her songs that she was told to tell her story but she didn't have much to add. There are songs here where she sounds like she's going to give her an opinion on something and then goes back to her usual. I think she's capable of telling some sort of story of one of her sexual exploits or something. There are some tracks where she's duetting off with other rappers but it's just a very short conversation.

Overall, this album feels like it's a good workout album to listen to. It's fun to listen to like a really raunchy top 40s thing. I don't know if it'll be on heavy rotation for me but I will definitely give another few repeats but I think I'll be done with it after a handful of times. That's why I have to give this album a 6.5 out of 10. I think she's definitely capable of more but you can't not have fun listening to it for the first time.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.