Geeks logo

My Review of "Marvel's Spider-Man 2 - PS5"

It's more of the same but that can actually be a good thing.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like

Marvel's Spider-Man 2 - PS5 has been out for probably a month now and I finally finished it. Yes, I know, how could it take you this long to finish it? Well, I'll get to that. What's most important is that it was a great experience and for all the reasons that you think. If you've played the previous games you'll know exactly what I mean by that.

The game starts off not too long after the Miles Morales game. I played the games in a weird order. I played the Miles Morales game first. It was a stand alone that kind of worked as its own game. There weren't too many references to the original game. When I played the Spider-Man Remastered for the PS5, I instantly realized the Miles Morales game was the exact same thing. Yet I was still totally engaged with the game.

The original game didn't have as many cool mechanics as the Miles Morales game but it had a ton more punch with personality and character development. The Peter Parker character had a lot more charm and charisma. Now with this newest game we have a blend between the two previous games all into one bigger package.

We get all of the cool mechanics you had with the Miles Morales game along with the much better character and story element of the original game. They were able to blend everything into one great package. It all feels very familiar but they add a lot of new elements in there to keep it fresh and fun for people that have played the game before.

Though if you have played the previous games you will find this game a lot easier because you're used to the mechanics already. There are a few tougher scenes but overall this is a cakewalk. I'm not complaining though. I kind of liked it this way because I liked following the stories and just getting lost in the free roaming world of New York city.

At first I started thinking oh no they just rehashed the same old game again. In a sense yes it is the same thing rehashed all over again but once you start playing it, this game somehow sucks you in. I don't know what it is. Soon as I knew it I was 30 hours into the game and finally finishing it.

I couldn't help but do a lot of the meaningless side missions where I would solve various crimes and help be a friendly neighborhood Spider-Man. There's a jovial vibe throughout the game well up until the later stages of the game. I couldn't help but have a smile doing some of these things even though I knew they didn't really matter.

The main storyline is where the meat of the game is. That was really fun and boy did they really up the ante with some of the visual presentation. Characters looked particularly impressive in the dark in contrast to the daytime scenes. There are still some issues with motion captures and how the faces move but overall it is quite a feat.

They knew this game was going to be a smash hit too because when you finish the game they already laid out the blueprint for the next sequel. I'm up to speed so I know what's going on but those that haven't played the first two games might be a little lost with some of the references sprinkled throughout the game. In this case I would highly suggest playing the first 2 games before going onto this one. They do an okay job in explaining everything but I don't think you get as much impact unless you play the games in full.

Overall, I had a heck of a time playing this though there were certain times when I felt that I was doing the same old thing that I've been doing in the first 2 games. If you've played those first two games and loved them this is a no brainer. Everything here was high quality and I don't think they could have done it any better other than a few technical issues. I have to give this game an 8.5 out of 10. I can't wait until the next game.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.