Geeks logo

My Review of 'Kindergarten Cop'

An old movie that I had loved in the past, but does it hold up to today's standards?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Kindergarten Cop was recently added to Netflix and my girlfriend and I were looking for something to watch. Not too long ago we watched some of her old favorites, and I know she likes family-friendly movies, so I suggested Kindergarten Cop. I remembered liking it back in the day and it's time for me to show her some of the family fun movies that I liked in the past. It's probably been over a decade since I've seen the movie and she hasn't seen it ever. What a good recipe for a review.

So Kindergarten Cop is basically about a tough cop named Kimble played by Arnold Schwarzenegger. He's been chasing down this guy Dominic for quite some time, but he always seems to get away. Finally, Kimble gets a big lead to capture Dominic. Kimble must go to an elementary school to find Dominic's estranged son before Dominic causes havoc trying to kidnap him. Unfortunately, Kimble doesn't have too much to work with. All he knows is that Dominic's son is in kindergarten and what school he's going to. Dominic's son and ex-wife have understandably changed their names, trying not to be found. So, Kimble and his partner need to find the son and the mother, and bring them to safety before Dominic finds them.

After some zany turn of events, it turns out that Kimble needs to go undercover as a kindergarten teacher. As the kindergarten teacher, he needs to figure out which child is Dominic's before Dominic tears down the place looking for his son.

The plot is rather cooky and weird, but I still didn't think much of it. Each of the actors worked their charisma and charm on me as an audience. The acting, of course, isn't the best and the story continued to be predictable and zany. Despite all this, I still had a blast watching it. I wonder if it was because of my own nostalgia hitting me hard. Although I asked my girlfriend if she liked the movie, and she said that she liked it, but then again, she likes fun family movies as well. So maybe the two of us are biased to these types of movies.

The gags from the past still got me today. It's like when I watched the movie Stripes for the first time. There are stupid jokes spread throughout the movie, but I still really enjoyed the movie. I'm starting to notice that I'm a fan of Ivan Reitman movies. There's this movie, Twins, Ghostbusters, Stripes, and the list goes on. He really made some entertaining movies that everyone could enjoy. There's this style to his films that is kind of obvious when you watch them. It's not as obvious as Tim Burton movies. I would say it's distinct like John Hughes movies. All of his movies can kind of be in the same universe. They all have the same look and feel to them that make them super comforting when I'm watching them.

Overall, I had a really good time watching this movie again. I have to say that it stood the test of time and is still as enjoyable today as it was in the past. Of course, this movie isn't for everyone, but for me, I enjoyed it and wouldn't mind if I had to watch it again. I will give Kindergarten Cop a 7 out of 10. It's a fun diversion that will be acceptable to watch as a TV rerun. I wouldn't generally have a crazy urge to watch it, but when I do watch it again, I know I'll still enjoy it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.