Geeks logo

My Review of "Dune: Part Two"

This is a long movie and it doesn't even seem to end...

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

Dune: Part Two is the long anticipated sequel that we've been waiting for. I loved Dune: Part One back when I first saw it. I rewatched that movie and realized it's a bit of a struggle to get through. Though it is the build up for a big story. That's why this movie was so hotly anticipated. For some reason I was expecting this to be the conclusion but I don't think that's happening.

The story obviously takes place right after the events of the first part. The Atreides house has been decimated or so they think. Paul Atreides (the lone heir to the house of Atreides) is marooned on a desert planet called Arrakis with his mother who happens to be pregnant. There he has forged an alliance with the locals called the Fremen.

It so happens that a lot of the Fremen believe in a prophecy that Paul seems to be apart of. There's huge rumblings about how Paul could be the chosen one to save Arrakis and bring the Fremen back to paradise. Half the population believes it and half of it doesn't.

In this movie we continue on with this story. We dive more into the prophecy lore of how Paul is the chosen one. There's a comical character named Stilgar that adamantly believes that Paul is the one. In fact, he blindingly believes so much that some of his reactions to Paul's actions are quite comical. I don't know if it was intentional or not but I laughed every time Stilgar would reach for a reason for believing in Paul as the chosen one.

It's said that this movie was to focus more on the romantic relationship between one of the Fremen named Chani and Paul. This does happen but their romance kind of feels like a young adult TV superhero love affair. I know where they're going with it but there's a cheesiness that I couldn't get over. Closer to the end I found it also a bit comical how on the nose the characters behaved.

The action sequences are quite spectacular though. This is what everyone is going to be going on and on about. The art direction and the visuals are top notch. You will be mesmerized by the visual splendor this movie spews out at you. This is a must see at the theatres and it really feels like it was meant to be seen in the theatres.

To my disappointment I thought this movie was going to be the conclusion of the movie series. It got progressively worse for me as they hinted that this is just the beginning a few times closer to the end of the movie. I was looking at the time and was thinking no you can't be serious. You can't be telling me this information this late in the runtime of the movie! Why can't we just have movies anymore? It feels like movies are just long and expensive TV show episodes now. This movie series could have been better off as a TV series than a movie but then again those visuals are spectacular...

I meant what I said in my review of this movie's prequel. This really is this generation's Lord of the Rings. There's probably going to be a trilogy of this series as well. The story arc pretty much follows the same thing as what the Lord of the Rings did as well. Not everyone is going to enjoy this series. It's full of lore and it's quite long. Even if you're going to watch this movie for the action trust me there is a lot of expedition that might not be worth your time.

Overall, I enjoyed this movie and I can say that I did enjoy it more than its predecessor. I'm sure that after the third movie comes out I'll probably have a newfound appreciation for this movie. Seeing as it feels like a middle part of a trilogy that I didn't expect to be a trilogy I left the theatre a little upset. For what it is as a movie it's incomplete because you have to watch the first movie to keep up with this one. Entertainment factor is still large so I'll have to give this movie a 7.5 out of 10.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.