Geeks logo

My Review of "Drugstore June"

June is aggravating! Why then did I grow to love her?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

Drugstore June is a comedy that just came out in March of 2024. I rarely get to see comedies like this at theatres right away so I jumped at the opportunity. It's a very small independent movie so I'm not sure a lot of people have heard of this one. Let me tell you, it's definitely not for everyone, but if you get the humor, you're really going to like it!

The movie starts off with the introduction of our main character June. She's a new age girl. Something a lot of people my generation won't understand but I grew to love her. She's a bit of an anomaly. Even though she's very self conscious she can still have this extremely crazy high confidence in herself. I love that about her. She also happens to be extremely narcissistic but yet worries about what her followers think of her. Writing it, doesn't make sense but somehow they make this character work and understandable.

June is trying to navigate her life as she's sort of aimless. It's in a way quite similar to Nora from Queens but to the extreme personality. She works at a pharmacy and no one seems to like her. Her parents want her to move out of their home. She doesn't get along with her brother. There's also an ex that she can't get over. They broke up two years ago and he's engaged to another woman. It's kind of crazy because he's got a restraining order against her.

Still June does whatever she wants and kind of gets away with things because of her odd and disturbing charm. The first half of this movie is to establish her backstory, the people around her and her multiple obsessions. This movie doesn't really pick up until the middle portion when the pharmacy that she's working in gets broken into.

This movie ramps right up when this happens because she attempts to solve the crime. June innocently falls into some pretty hilariously wacky scenarios. Her delusional illusions of grandeur really make this movie so much fun. Again not everyone will understand this humor. I didn't even get it until a quarter into the movie.

My initial thoughts of June was that she was aggravating and quite irritating. She somehow grew on me and I started to love her extreme personality. It's funny because technically she doesn't ever do anything bad. She's actually a good person she's just so entitled that she can't see her actions are quite grating. This essentially becomes the joke throughout the movie. She got to me like Ron Burgundy did in Anchorman.

All of the characters in the movie are essentially all unlikeable characters. It's sort of a new age Seinfeld where everyone is terrible. They all have their vices and it so happens that we're focusing on June's character. By the end of the movie I came to love June and wanted to see more from her.

The only issue I had with this movie is a bit of the pacing issue. I thought that the first half of the movie was a bit long winded and could have been condensed. We get it she likes to eat a lot. This movie's dialogue is also quite fast. The jokes are flying at you a mile a minute and for me it took me a little bit longer to grasp some of them. Be sure to be up on some of your pop culture to get some of these jokes too.

Overall, I had a really good time with this movie. It did take me a little while to get used to what I was watching but once I did I was in for a heck of a ride. June grew on me and I wanted to see more. I have to give this movie a 7 out of 10.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.