Geeks logo

My Review of 'Dolemite Is My Name'

I really hope this is the comeback that Eddie Murphy has been waiting for. I really liked this movie!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

People have really given Eddie Murphy a harsh time for the last few years. I'm not entirely sure why but his movies haven't been doing very well in the theaters. I have seen some of his later movies and they aren't as bad as everyone makes them out to be.

I find that all of his movies especially nowadays have some sort of family theme to them. His more recent films have become more family friendly and I guess that could be an issue with some fans, as he used to make more risque movies in the past. They wouldn't seem so risque to today's standards though.

Dolemite Is My Name is based on a real person named Rudy Ray Moore, played by Eddie Murphy. Rudy is a guy trying to make it in the entertainment industry. He can sing, dance, and do comedy. The only problem was that, at the time, his form of entertainment was a little outdated. The good thing about Rudy was that he had great tenacity and was really good at adapting to his surroundings. Most importantly, in this movie they made Rudy seem like a really hard working, trustworthy person.

I had a ton of fun watching this movie because it really speaks to a general audience. Rudy isn't great at anything. He's not the best looking, athletic, or have any abilities that anyone wants in the entertainment industry. Still, he has this strong desire to live his dream and he actually makes it despite his mediocrity. He doesn't do this alone of course. His enthusiasm is infectious and it spreads to his friends and family.

Soon his friends and community become one big family that helps each other and it really pulls the heartstrings at certain points in the movie. You see that each and everyone of the characters are willing to make sacrifices for their common goal. So essentially this becomes a big family movie just like all the other Eddie Murphy movies.

To appease older Eddie Murphy fans, this movie is also raunchy. There are curse words flying all over the place and there is a good number of nudity scenes in there that would make you feel uncomfortable to have children watching. That makes sense, since this was all in Rudy's Dolemite movie.

There are tons of star cameos in this movie and rightfully so. The movie makes it apparent that Rudy had a big influence in the Black community and Black entertainment. They even go on to explain how he had had a huge impact in the creation of Hip Hop and rap music in general. He's truly an unsung hero that many should take notice.

I'm sure that a ton of people will also relate to this movie because it's an underdog story. No matter how many times this guy was rejected he would find a different way of getting his way. It's pretty inspiring and I'm sure a ton of people will enjoy this just as I did.

I'm glad that Netflix was able to make this movie and I hope that they continue their partnership with Eddie Murphy as long as they make movies like this one. I hope that this is the start of a beautiful comeback for Eddie Murphy and he continues this momentum.

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie. I really hope that a ton of people check out this movie. This is a movie about a person that was really influential and I don't think a lot of people know who he is. It will make you want to watch the original Dolemite movie. I have to give this movie a 9 out of 10. It was a great time and I think I'm going to watch it again when I have the time.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.