Geeks logo

My Review of "Beckham"

A very well crafted documentary series that actually got me interested in soccer.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2

Beckham is an exclusive biography series released on Netflix in 2023. It's something that I wasn't really looking forward to but was pleasantly surprised when I actually watched it. I don't know that much about David Beckham but I have heard about him. There's very few people that don't know who he is and that' even explained in the series.

Here in North America he's always been known as the husband of Posh Spice of the Spice Girls. Little did I know he was huge everywhere outside of North America. Then again soccer is way bigger everywhere around the world except for North America. I don't know how that works but it just is what it is.

The series is actually a short series with only 4 episodes. They go into each era of David's life. The first episode goes into depth about his early childhood. He grew up in a somewhat strict but hard working household. Throughout his life he's known nothing but the sport and trained like crazy with his father and coach.

This first episode really establishes the relationships between all of the players involved in David's story. They go into how they all meet and why each of their relationships are so important to David's life. The series does this in a special way as it interweaves the meanings of all of the things in David's life together.

We then go into how his career progressively gets bigger and bigger. With that so does his celebrity and the downsides of celebrity. His wife Victoria and the rest of his family had to suffer from some of the decisions that he had to make. This strain on his relationships are a lead cause for any of the drama that happens throughout the series.

I like how this documentary goes a little deeper and gives us a little of the personalities behind the players involved in David's life. We see the ongoing relationships he has with old friends and how they are today. There's a true sense of bonding and family throughout this series that permeates throughout the movie.

I'm not a huge fan of soccer but the way that they bring up all of David's highlight moments was done masterfully. It really made me invested in what was going to happen. They added a little extra pause for drama and anticipation. This helps for me because I didn't know the outcome of the situations. I'm sure this might be a little different for people that already know the outcomes of what's about to happen.

Throughout the series I was really glad they added a lot from Victoria. Her trials and tribulations really made me like her even more. She is obviously the rock of the family that keeps everything running so well. If it wasn't for her I don't know how far David would have gone in his career. I don't know how she was able to be so supportive for so many years.

Therein lies my only pet peeve about the series. I wished they could have gone a little more in depth about their relationship however I understood why they couldn't. The whole series was about the problems they had with the media and you could see the trauma that was brought back up from them when asked about these questions.

Overall, this was very entertaining and I only wanted to see more. That just shows you how good it was. The pacing and the way they placed nuggets of details in the story was really well done. This showed how well crafted this series was edited. I couldn't give this series higher praises, that's why I have to give this documentary series a 9 out of 10.

review
2

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great, seems interesting! I’ll have to check out this documentary!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.