Geeks logo

My Review of "65"

It's not very innovative but it is quite pretty and the immersive sound is incredible.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 8 months ago 3 min read

65 quietly came out in theatres in 2023. I don't think too many people knew about it because there wasn't a lot of publicity for it. I knew of it but didn't bother to watch it until I got the 4k Blu-ray copy of it. I figured why not enjoy it at the comfort of my own home. Besides I wanted to test out my system.

The story starts off with the introduction of the character Mills. He's in a loving family. You see him, his wife and their daughter frolicking on the beach. The movie wants to build the relationship with him and his daughter here. They playfully have a fun day together but ultimately he has to leave. His job requires him to pilot space ships and this is the primary source of income for this family I believe.

I guess with space travel you will disappear for long periods of time so it's tough for the family to be parted like this. Soon as you know it Mills' space ship is hit by mysterious asteroids. It pretty much destroys his ship and it crash lands on a planet.

Confusingly, the movie mentions they land on earth 65 million years ago. This doesn't make any sense but it's a fantasy/sci-fi movie so we'll just go with it. I felt like they could have just said that this is a foreign world there's no real reason for mentioning it was 65 million years ago. Dinosaurs could live on distant planets theoretically.

Though this does bring in the dinosaur aspect of this movie. Throughout this movie they are a danger to Mills. At first he understandably freaks out. Everyone seems to have died from the crash except for him. That is until he stumbles upon one survivor by the name of Koa. She's about his daughter's age and his sole objective soon becomes to save her from this barbaric world.

Koa doesn't understand English so the two have a hard time understanding each other but the two eventually build a friendly bond with one another. I guess the movie is trying to convey that she represents his daughter.

The movie does have some nice tension and thrills along the way with dinosaurs everywhere. There are some purposely made frustrating moments with the two lead characters. They kind of explain the purpose of these frustrating moments loosely but they are frustrating nonetheless.

The special effects are quite nice and the movie in general is shot quite beautifully. The stand out of this movie was the aural experience. If you have a Dolby Atmos set up and fire this movie on all cylinders you will hear sound effects coming at you in all directions. I heard things coming out of the sky, behind me and beside me. There were times I felt really immersed in the environment because of the fantastic sound effects in this movie. It has to be experienced.

Though I unfortunately can't say the same for the overall movie. It was a paint by numbers movie. It does it's job in telling a story but it's not a very compelling one. There's really only one dimension to this whole thing and it can get quite boring at times. That's too bad because the rest of the aspects of this movie are pretty good.

Overall, it was still entertaining but I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend this to anyone. Audio and visual are done so well that this could be a demo to show off your home system but this is not something you'd want to watch start to finish as just a movie. I have to give this movie a 6 out of 10.

review

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BAWritten by Brian Anonymous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.