Geeks logo

My Future Tats

Call them memory/passion stamps

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
My Future Tats
Photo by Kristian Angelo on Unsplash

I'm not a tattoo artist or anything, hell, I don't even have any tattoos on me, and I'm 26. My family members have tattoos, and I'm the only one who doesn't have any, not counting my younger siblings in high school.

My sister and a few of her friends told me that if I want to get a tattoo, it has to be meaningful, but they laughed at me because they see nerdy stuff and a number, but really, what I see is the stuff that made me who I am now. I see a story that can I can give to the next generation, so I want to show you the tattoos I plan to get in the years to come.

When I was a kid, my dad showed me many superheroes, and Spider-Man was the first superhero he showed me. I used to watch superhero cartoons with him every Saturday morning other than Spider-Man; we watched Batman: The Animated Series, Superman: The Animated Series, X-Men, and I'm sure there was a cartoon that was called The Adventures of Batman and Superman. I remember the theme song and everything.

Anyways, the thing I'm trying to say is that I'm going to get...

as one of my tattoos. In 2012, when the movie came out, I loved seeing it in theaters so much that I couldn't help but think of the times I spent with my dad watching those Saturday mornings cartoons with him, and I had such a blast seeing the movie, especially when the final battle was going on. I looked around because there were a few kids in the theater with their parents, and they were smiling as big as I was after Captain America gave Hulk one, simple order, "SMASH," and Hulk just gave Cap a vast smile after that before wrecking some fools.

It's crazy that some of the tattoos I plan on getting have something to do with some times I had with my dad because that's what this next tattoo is. Back when I was 5 or 6, I was in Michigan with my dad, mom, and brother and sister. I remember playing baseball with my dad in the street like he taught me how to swing and keep my eye on the ball and stuff like that. I think that was when my love for baseball came in because once I started to learn about black history when I was 9, that was when I learned about Jackie Robinson and his iconic number on his uniform, so by the time I saw the movie, 42 when I was 19, it all clicked. This one is going on my back on my left shoulder; I don't know why, but it just feels right.

This tattoo is a little more special to me because this one I came to on my own. I mean, I had a little help from my stepdad, but it was all me for the most part. If you're reading this and you're around my age (26) or a little younger than me, you probably remember Zune. I used to have one when I was 14, and I always had it with me everywhere I went, but I had a journal before that. I used to write playlists for songs I'd want to have on my Zune or iPod if I got one of those, and every day, I was always putting old or new names to songs on there since I used to download songs on FrostWire (you probably remember that, too). This one is going on my right hand, and I got a name for it; I came up with it when I was 19 since I had too much time on my hands considering the fact I didn't have a job, and I graduated high school, but I couldn't go back to community college yet. I call it The Mark of Music.

Another tattoo is another superhero based one, but I want to switch it around a little bit. This one is going to be Wolverine's claw marks; Wolverine is one of my favorite characters, and I've always liked his claws, but for the idea I have, the picture I want to use is to turn it sideways and make it look like some Mark of the Beast type of stuff. It'll be on either my right arm or my left arm, but I'm not sure yet. I guess I'll deal with that on the bridge when I cross it.

This last tattoo is a little more important to me, but fair warning, if you're not a fan of Eminem, you might as well stop reading now. This tattoo has more to do with how I connect with the album and its central idea more than some of the songs itself, now one of my favorite albums is the one he released in 2009 or 2010, "Recovery." I loved that album so much that I can't count how many times I played it on my iPod touch after getting the iPod for my birthday, especially his track, "Cinderella Man." It was among one of my favorite songs on the album, and it still is. I also loved the album so much that I got a wristband that clicks on when you put it on at the mall one day; I wore it every day for at least 3 or 4 years until I ended up losing it. I don't remember how I lost it. Still, I want to get the album's name on my left arm, or I'd get the icon on one of my fingers on my hand since they don't sell the wristbands anymore; I'm still trying to figure out where I'd place it but of course, here are the pictures I might get tatted on me, but only one will go on me.

Album name WITH the logo

JUST the logo for the album

Man... I got a feeling that I want to get at least one more tattoo on me, but I'm not sure what it would be or even where I'd like to put it. I'm perfectly okay with the five ideas that I have now, but who knows? I might have an idea, but unfortunately, I won't be able to show you. I'd say come check out my Instagram, but I barely use that anymore, so you probably have a better shot seeing me on my YouTube channel, Good Time Geeks but then again, you might not be able to see it. All I'm saying is keep a lookout. I can't wait to get these tatted on me, I know it'll hurt, but I'll be okay, plus I have to go somewhere that is cheap that does tattoos or ask a friend if they would want to put one on me.

art
1

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.