Geeks logo

Marvel/DC Comics Presents #2

“Observation”

By Derrick Billups Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Captain Mar-Vell (Art by Gene Colan and Frank Giacoia

Captain Mar-Vell

Somewhere above St. Louis.

Observation Log 29856.24 Captain's Personal Log

Captain of the Kree Empire Reporting

I am a soldier.

I am loyal to my people and to my leaders.

My name is Mar-Vell, a Captain of the Kree Empire. I was sent to Earth to observe these lesser beings that lie outside of our Empire. A primer to see if this world is deemed valuable to be formally in the Empire. I am considered an observer but others will call me a spy.

I have monitored this backwater world for a number of Earth weeks now and find this to be a world with many wonders. Wonders that could make it a threat to the Empire if left unchecked.

The Earthers or Terrans as they are also called are on average a weaker people compared to a child of Hala. Yet there are pockets of the species that show much power. There are a subspecies called mutants by the populace. Beings that are born with abilities that make them superior to those around them. There are those who are considered mutates. Average humans that are gifted or cursed with abilities through various outside means. Some of these beings have taken it upon themselves to serve as protectors of the weaker humans. Heroes.

The Kree throughout its history has found its way to this world over the millennia. Other species have done the same. I have observed since my time here the footprints of other spacefaring civilizations. Beings such as the Thanagarian, Kronans, Rannians, Czarnian, the Oans, and even our dreaded enemy, the Skrull. Perhaps the one other alien that has caught the most attention to me is the last Kryptonian. The one called Superman.

On Hala, I heard tales of the mighty Kryptonian Empire of millennia past. Beings who conquered many before retreating into themselves and becoming an isolationist people. A once warrior people like mine, but who gave up the path. Now their world is ashes. All that remains of them is this Superman.

I have watched Superman while in stealth. I have witnessed the mighty power he has within him. Power that puts anything of Hala to shame. He could easily become ruler of this world. Perhaps the Supreme Intelligence, the ruler of my world, might consider a proposal to give this world to the Kryptonian as a protectorate under the Kree. Although, from what I have seen of him, I doubt he will do it. He cares for the Earthers too much to be a ruler over them much less a ruler in the name of the Kree Empire. I see a noble being who helps the Earthers in need. One who is willing to stand for them based on a level of selflessness that is foreign to Kree. He acts as though he's one of them and watching him is inspiring and infectious.

Superman's heroics made me wonder what was so special about these Earthers. I traveled around this world and saw a people that are some of the most unique I have ever seen. Their cultures give them a richness that is now forgotten amongst my people. There is a sense of freedom of existence that one cannot help but see and feel. I see in them a drive that will see them either as builders or destroyers. Time will tell what this race would be like when they take their place among the stars. While there are some of their number who would make fine Kree, the rest would be condemned outright. They have divisions within their society that mirror that of home. The blue-skinned of the Empire have the most our empire can offer, while pink-skins such as myself have to work twice as hard for the same. I see the same in this world with the pink-skinned humans as our blue-skinned Kree. Despite the distance between our worlds, prejudices and biases are part of our being.

I've mostly dwelt apart from these Earthers. Watching them and sending my observations back to Command on Hala. The growing number of heroes of this world are the only real threat to the Empire's desires. I leave out the more mundane everyday things from my reports. Such things are considered irrelevant to my people. Still I am growing to enjoy these people in their frailties and yet there's a strength that would rival the Kree. This is a people who will not be easily conquered. I need to get closer to them. I think I know what I must do. My appearance when I am out of uniform will not be second guessed by them. It's time to take my observations to the next step.

End Observation Log.

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.