Geeks logo

Marielle's Top 10 Movies of 2023

Movies have become my passion.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
4

Movies have become my passion. I love going on trips to movie theaters. Please, go out to theaters and support movies. I have watched some great movies this year and I cannot wait to talk about them. First, I am going to talk about movies that have already been released and then I will discuss my favorite 2023 movies.

Other Films

5. Hearts Beat Loud - 2018, Director: Brett Haley, Actors: Nick Offerman and Kiersey Clemons

I watched Hearts Beat Loud on the first day of the new year. It’s a feel-good story about relationships, music, and finding your passion. The cast for the film was excellent, including Nick Offerman and Kiersey Clemons. Not just music, Hearts Beat Loud connects to anyone’s passions. I highly recommend that you find Hearts Beat Loud.

4, A Patch of Blue - 1965, Director: Guy Green, Actors: Sidney Poitier and Elizabeth Hartman

A Patch of Blue is a poignant portrayal of an unlikely and tender friendship between a blind white woman and a kind black man in the 1960s. The late Elizabeth Hartman and Sidney Poitier were excellent in their interactions. The film's exploration of love, empathy, and the triumph over societal prejudices leaves a lasting impression.

3. Pieces of April - 2003, Director: Peter Hedges, Actors: Katie Holmes and Patricia Clarkson

I was expecting Pieces of April to be the usual dysfunctional family Thanksgiving film but there is so much more to it. Each character, Katie Holmes and Patricia Clarkson especially, delivers compelling performances. Pieces of April is a heartfelt and endearing film that explores the themes of family, love, and forgiveness.

2. Brittany Runs a Marathon - 2019, Director: Paul Downs Colaizzo, Actor: Jillian Bell

Brittany Runs a Marathon is the right motivational film everyone needs to see. Jillian Bell conquered high achievements in her role as Brittany. incorporating several positive messages. the film enforces themes about achieving goals and mental health. Incorporating a great mix of comedy and drama, I recommend that you watch this movie on Prime.

1. Butter - 2011, Director: Jim Field Smith, Actors: Jennifer Garner and Yara Shahidi

I have watched Butter three times this year. Butter is an underrated gem. Boasting a remarkable cast of actors, Butter focuses on a relatively unknown concept. The butter-sculpting is the best part of the film. We need more films like this. It’s an entertaining, funny, and thought-provoking watch.

2023 Films

5. No Hard Feelings

I might be in the minority of people who liked this film but No Hard Feelings is more than its raunchy premise. Jennifer Lawrence and Andrew Barth Feldman are tremendous in their interactions. No Hard Feelings avoids exploiting a toxic underage relationship by exploring the complexities of the duo’s interactions and has a heartwarming coming-of-age message.

4. Love at First Sight

This is a film that I had all wrong from my initial impressions. The story takes the usual meet-love tale and contorts it into something different. The whole cast did a remarkable job. Aside from a love story, the film is more about finding your routes and learning to forgive. Go watch this movie on Netflix.

3. Bottoms

I wasn’t expecting to like Bottoms as much as I did. Bottoms not only delivers hilarious comedy but also signifies a thought-provoking message about LGBTQ representation. It’s an overly silly raunchy comedy that made me snort out loud in the theater. You should experience this film because it’s memorable and has a meaningful message.

2. The Holdovers

I loved seeing this movie in theaters. The Holdovers is funny, heartfelt, and has a sincere message. The entire cast, Paul Giamatti especially, were outstanding in their performances. The Holdovers has similar themes to other films but puts a unique touch on the trope. You never know what anybody is going through in their lives until you spend a week with them.

1. Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret

Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret is my favorite movie of 2023. The adaptation of Judy Blume’s influential novel does not disappoint. This movie is a positive advocate for anyone having trouble finding their words. Sitting in a movie theater with audiences who waited fifty years to see a movie adaptation is something that I will never forget.

And with that 2023 has concluded. What are your favorite films from the year? Thank you all so much for reading my reviews. Have a safe and happy New Year and I will see you next year.

reviewpop culturemovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities
4

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    A well done review!

  • Are You There, God? Its Me, Margaret. That's on my TBW but I've still not yet watched it.

  • Annie Kapur4 months ago

    You have a really unique taste in movies. I think I have also been convinced to watch "Are You There, God? It's Me, Margaret" - I've read the book and didn't know if the film would live up to it. But, you have convinced me. Great article by the way, some really good films on this list.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.