Geeks logo

Animaniacs: Wakko's Wish is a Nostalgic Gem

'Animaniacs' is the definition of childhood.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2

What’s your wish for the wishing star?

Based on the Animaniacs cartoons, Wakko’s Wish sailed onto television screens in 1999. Yakko, Wakko, and Dot have the opportunity to make a wish on a wishing star. Inadvertently telling everybody in the town now it’s a race to see who gets to the wishing star first.

I’m going to burst a lot of millennial bubbles when I say that Animaniacs: Wakko’s Wish is now twenty-five years old! I loved watching Animaniacs as a kid, especially Wakko’s Wish. A wave of nostalgia washed over me as I re-watched this cartoon. Never give up hope in dark times.

Yakko, Wakko, and Dot are a sensation. Cartoons are not made like they used to be (and that’s coming from someone in their 20s). We all know how chaotic these characters are. The most important part is their sibling love. The trio support each other no matter what.

Yakko’s bedtime story to Dot is one of the sweetest moments. This special shows them in a new light. Rob Paulson, Jess Harnell, and Tress MacNielle have fantastic voice work, chemistry, and singing voices.

All your favorite Animaniacs characters return for one last appearance, even ones who had minor roles. We’ve come to know these characters so well. Pinky and the Brain have always been my favorite. I got every episode on DVD for my birthday.

Each character gets a fair share of screen time. The Good Feathers appear rather late in the story. The characters share comical interactions. The voice credits for Wakko’s Wish cannot go unmentioned. Maurice LaMarche, Sherri Stoner, Nate Ruegger, Nancy Cartwright, Frank Welker, Bernadette Peters, and the late Paxton Whitehead are all terrific.

The animators did an impressive job with the animation. I miss hand-drawn animation. The smallest details are given attentionArtists pay close attention to all the characters even taking the time to make individual reactions to everyone in a scene. Although a bit repetitive it enhances the character’s personalities.

The songs and music of Wakko’s Wish is excellent. When I was in middle school I couldn’t stop humming the songs to myself. When I got home I went straight to the computer to watch my favorite clips on YouTube. And then I’d get my homework out when my parents arrived home. Animaniacs is the definition of childhood.

The songs for Wakko’s Wish are well-written and incorporate creative touches. ‘Wishing Star’ deserves special mention. I used to snap my fingers along to it. ‘Wishing Star’ is a beautifully choreographed piece that captures the essence of the story.

At its core, Liz Holman, Rusty Mills, and the whole Animaniacs team created an epic and poignant adventure. The plot is engaging and does a fine job with its various subplots. Animaniacs is known for its comedy. Most times, the show broke the fourth wall.

Nobody was expecting the emotional moments of Wakko’s Wish. In a specific scene in the climax, several comments from viewers talk about how they cried. The film doesn't shy away from tugging at the heartstrings, particularly through the exploration of the sibling bond between Yakko, Wakko, and Dot.

Characters reflect on their wishes and desires in ‘If I Could Have My Wish Then I’d Be Happy.’ Wakko’s Wish sports an important lesson. Make wishes true to yourself. We can’t always get what we want in life but think about how your wishes affect yourself and others.

Animaniacs is a timeless cartoon. As time goes on we cannot forget about movies or TV shows like these. Revisit Wakko's Wish and have a laugh.

movietvreviewpop cultureentertainmentcomedycelebrities
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.