Geeks logo

Living Queer, Reading Queer

Some of My Favorite Queer Novels

By Damin GreyPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like

I often find myself while nose deep in a novel, that new book smell and the excitement of the endless possibilities just buzzing under my skin, wondering how reading could get any better. However, more often than not I'm disappointed or rather underwhelmed by the romance aspect. Like looking at the front of a children's book titled John Goes to School I feel as if the eggs are already lined up in front of me. While I briefly consider if John will ever finish his destined journey to school, I know the outcome.

It's likely we have all read that book, where the main character is faced with the choice between two handsome men magically only attracted to her no matter what trials she put them through. After all, it is her fate to choose between the bad boy and the perfect likely childhood and/or long-term friend! Now, I have read plenty of amazing heterosexual romance novels and loved every bit of them. But as a queer person myself, I often yearn to experience stories of those similar to me, or people that may face similar issues.

These, of course, do not offer any freedom from continuing trends and repetitive dry plots. I have read my handful of coming out stories, which in their own charming light can be an intriguing before bed read. For some time I had lost hope in finding novels including the queer community that I just couldn't put down; Often I found the gay best friend who occasionally came in for comic relief and maybe even got a boyfriend at some point. Or the main female character briefly having a girlfriend when she's going down a dark path, showing how badass she is before returning to her boyfriend.

However, in my never-ending search, I've noticed the increasing number of amazing stories released recently that have just blown me away. Including queer characters but most importantly a generally good plot with well made believable characters. I have so many I'd like to share with you guys today but for now, I'll start with a few of my recent favorites and my current reading queue, and will post about soon!

'Hero' by Perry Moore

Those of you who know Perry Moore likely know him as the author of the well known Chronicles of Narnia. I knew the movies before the books and I loved the whimsy and darkness they brought into my life. I was absolutely swept off my feet by his novel Hero. I didn't know what I was getting into when I bought the audiobook, one of my favorite genres is superhero stories. I grew up watching Batman and Spiderman, buying comics when I could afford them… So when I got my credit on audible I decided to search up some recommended hero themed books. I was shocked when I happened across a title with a queer main character so I immediately bought it and settled in to listen.

The first thing I was met with was an opening by Stan Lee himself (I had to take a break from excitement from that alone), however I was quickly thrust into a story with lovable characters, mystery, romance, and action. With every answer or clue, I only had more questions. Thom Creed was such a lovable character right away, with his own handful of problems from hiding his powers from his ex-hero father, juggling jobs with school, and on top of that a murderer picking off heroes all around him. I think perhaps my favorite aspect of this book is how different every character is. I don't want to spoil anything but I must admit you will fall in love with every character Thom is surrounded with. My only regret is how long it took me to find this book, I wish I could have gotten a signed copy of this absolute work of art.

'Openly Straight' by Bill Konigsberg

I was at a bookstore with a few of my friends when I picked this book up. I met with an amazing worker who opened me up to a bunch of amazing queer novels. He absolutely piled them on, Openly Straight was probably the one I had the most uncertainty about. I thought I would flip through it and have a few laughs and maybe even a cry… I now can't believe that I almost missed my chance to read this amazing story. This quirky book is about a teen named Rafe who is openly gay at highschool—something that took over his life! He was met with an overly accepting family and community. Soon everything about rafe became "the gay kid."

When Rafe goes away to college, he decides that he's going to take a step back into the closet and pretend to be a straight kid… the only problem is that he ends up falling in love with one of his best friends! This is an incredibly funny, lovable book that left me regretting that it was over. I wanted to know every bit of Rafe's life, I felt like the story couldn't possibly be over—then I found out that it is not! After moping around for what seemed like ages I discovered that there is a second book, from the view of his best friend of what happens after. I will likely be posting about this book at a later date.

'The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue' by Mackenzi Lee

It was only just around Christmas that I picked this book up, I was at my local bookstore when a very kind woman suggested it, she told me that she had not read it yet. She summed it up as a Victorian-themed novel about a young gay nobleman who goes on a boat trip with his best friend—Oh my was it so much more than that. I went into this book not expecting much from the plot; rather I was intrigued by the cultural difference. I ended up finishing the book in a night, I couldn't believe the character an adventure the plot offers. There were many twists and surprises in this charming novel.

In this story, Percy is a troublemaking young man given one last chance by his strict father to get his act together. A boat ride around the country with his best friend before becoming serious—oh and absolutely NO sleeping with boys or he will be cut from his family’s ties and money! He goes on his grand tour with his best friend and longtime crush Monty, who seems to have his share of secrets and worries. As well his younger sister full of wit who yearns to challenge gender roles and becomes a shockingly strong lovable character. They take off on an adventure none of them could have expected.

If you have already read those, or perhaps like me you have an unquenchable love of reading and exploring novels, these are a handful of titles I'm working on at this moment.

‘An Excess Male’ by Maggie Shen King

This story, from what I've gathered, is a dystopian novel, in a futuristic Chinese world with a one-child policy; the preference of male heirs causes there to be more men and fewer women. The amount of men without family is overwhelming. Women can have up to 3 husbands and even this leaves a huge amount of unwed men.

An Excess Male seems to follow the life of a Wei-Guo who is a third husband, he is secretly gay in a society that will not tolerate homosexuality. I am eager to pick up this book, I have only heard great praise of its complicated but masterful plot.

‘Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli

I don't know much about this book, but it is soon to be a motion picture. I have read that it's quirky and hilarious. On the front of the book, Teen Vogue states that it resembles Rainbow Rowell's writing; I have always adored her work so I decided to give this novel a chance.

This seems to be a standard high school drama story, with blackmail, romance, and so much more. I was skeptical when buying this book, but the combination of positive reviews and the rising popularity makes me excited to be proven wrong.

‘The Pants Project’ by Cat Clark

Stumbling across this book on audible, I decided to pick it up, This is another high school story about a young trans boy who decides to challenge his school's dress code. He experiences dysphoria wearing the skirts all girls must wear at his school.

I got this book about a week ago on audible, I was excited to start this novel because I haven't had the chance to read many stories about trans men.

While at first I was a bit off put by the childish feel of the book, I found myself having a bit of a hard time sympathizing with the main character in the first chapter. As I continue I'm hoping I can get past this and enjoy the story. I will give a more thorough review once completed!

Queer novels are amazing for queer people and non-queer alike, I suggest even if you are unsure about a certain theme to give it a chance. If you find any amazing stories I encourage you to share them with your friends and family. Not only does it help the authors, it also spreads the word of the queer community. Books can let you walk in the shoes of a completely different person. Help people learn, enjoy, and experience these amazing stories, shows, songs—whatever you can find!

End Note

I'm considering writing about tv shows, movies, comics, and more novels. Don't be shy to message me to check out things, or if there is any subject you would like for me to talk about.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.